RSS

What I’m watching – July Part 1

28 Jul

It’s been a pretty heavy movie month for us. Myth still isn’t working so since we can’t watch any real tv, I’ve been wallowing in movies and rewatching Dr. Who. We’ve made it out to a couple movies (WOW!) and I’m enjoying the summer movie season so far. Since I’ve started keeping track of what I’ve been watching, the list seems to have grown too long for one post. So I’m splitting it up into several. Here’s part 1 -Enjoy!

Black Swan: Wow! I loved this movie. The psychological and sometimes physical breakdown of Natalie Portman in this movie is astounding. The movie is all her and she shines in her transformation from frigid white swan to the sexy intense black swan. I love how you are left wondering at the end, what was real and what was a composition of her mind. The movie is a brilliant mind fuck and I look forward to a rewatch so that I might catch all the little intricacies of her descent.
The film was directed by Darren Aronofsky, whom I adore. I love the way he composes his shots. The way he lingers on things a little longer than is comfortable. I’m a huge fan of his prior films and I am ecstatic that the success of this film (Budget $13M, Worldwide gross $326M) will give him license to make whatever he wants and the money to back it up. I fell in love with his filmmaking when I watched Requiem for a Dream. Another intense, uncomfortable, screw with your head sort of movie. He’s a fabulous director that chooses intricate and interesting projects. I cannot wait to see what he comes up with next.

Robocop: 1987 classic. How can you not love this movie? Brian and I thought it would be a fun rewatch and for me, it pretty much holds up. I loved realizing that the dad from That 70’s show is the villain. I’m not sure if it’s actually a good movie or if it’s just nostalgia talking, but I really enjoy this flick. Also, there are all kinds of conflicting info about a possible reboot coming soon and a statue in Detroit.(Paid for by the Internet!!) It was fun and I’m not ashamed of my love for it.

Last of the Living: This movie was horrible. Actually we only sat through about 20 minutes before giving up. Three loser guys sitting around their apartment in a zombie apocalypse world. Amazingly electricity and water are still on. The action was awful. I know it was low budget but even I couldn’t get behind it. Ugh.

28 Weeks Later: The sequel to 28 Days Later. The American military has come into Britain 28 weeks after the Rage virus destroyed the country. All of the infected are dead and they are attempting to clean up and start anew. Of course nothing goes according to plan and the virus is once again unleashed on the populace that has returned. The tension is high, the action fast and intense and I cared about the characters. It was a fun horror/zombie genre flick and I’d definitely recommend it.

So that’s it for now. I’ve got some more in the queue to write up and I’ll post it as soon as I get the chance. Good night internetz.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2011 in Movies

 

Leave a Reply

 
