RSS

What I’m watching -June edition

05 Jul

Random rundown of the things we’ve watched in the past few weeks.

1st up -Movies

  • Green Lantern: It was okay. Not the greatest of movies but Ryan Reynolds is nice to look at. I wish that it had taken advantage of the whole green lantern core idea instead of it being Ryan Reynolds on his own. I think the CGI of the GL planet was awesome and the character of Sinestro was great. I wasn’t a huge fan of the post credit sequence. I think it would have been a better idea to use another movie to build this villain instead of revealing it at the end like this. Overall I wish it had a little less angsty Ryan Reynolds. It’s hard to watch a gorgeous guy who is an elite fighter pilot and is handed a super power mope around whining that life isn’t good enough.
  • Super 8: Best Movie of the Year so far. I LOVED this film. It brought back all my nostalgia from films like the Goonies, E.T., and Close Encounters. Yes, it was built to be this way but I totally bought into it. The relationships between the kids were believable. The leaving in the morning and not coming home until dark. I remember that!! The creature wasn’t revealed too soon but when it was, it was well done. Brian thought that the train derailment was a bit much but I was okay with a bit of overdone action/shit blowing up. I enjoyed it. Absolutely recommend seeing this!
On to DVD/Netflix instant activity
  • Machete: Of course I loved this movie. Actually I watched it once and then watched it again with Brian. It was a movie made based off a fake trailer for Grindhouse. It was handpicked for me to love. Gratuitous violence, hokey plot. Daniel Trejo and Jessica Alba… Steven Seagal is the villain. I am a huge fan of Robert Rodriguez and this movie just totally did it for me. If you like grindhouse, horror/exploitation movies you’ll like this. 🙂  Gets me super excited to see the other based on a fake trailer movie Hobo with a Shotgun!
  • Man of the Year: Ugh. This movie was awful. It could have been salvaged if only it knew what it wanted to be. The first half, decent comedy. The second half, thriller involving election fraud. Together? Disjointed and unfunny. If it could have made a decision it might have been okay. A waste of two hours.
  • Party Down: A Starz show that lasted for two seasons. It has Adam Scott and Jane Lynch (1st season only) as caterers in CA. They’re all struggling actors and trying to make their dreams come true while handling celebrities and debutantes galore. I wanted to watch this based on the recommendation of the the /filmcast and it’s a great watch. The humor is dry, the characters are quirky. It fills that Christopher Guest spot in my heart and makes me laugh. I’ve only finished the first season but I’ll be sad when it comes to an end.
  • Torchwood and Dr. Who: I am a late entry in to the Whoniverse and I absolutely LOVE it. I started with the reboot in 2005 and was immediately taken with the series. I’ve watched series 1 and 2 several times at this point and I’m working my way toward the current series. I restarted it in midstride so that I could show/force Brian to watch it with me. Thankfully he forgives me these little things.
    Along with Dr. Who, I discovered the spinoff Torchwood. TW is awesome. I haven’t watched the Children of Earth series yet as I know if alienated a lot of fans but I’m getting there. They are also doing a new series in the US (WTF?) for Starz. While I’m excited to see more Jack Harkness, it’s also such a definitively British show. I’m not sure how it’s going to work when it’s not in Cardiff. Doesn’t matter though, I’ll be watching when I can. (Which of course means when it’s available for purchase or Netflix. Don’t see us springing for cable anytime soon.)
July holds more Party Down, Dr. Who and Torchwood as well as some DVD’s to watch. We’ve got Black Swan and Sunshine waiting on the telly at the moment. Can’t wait to watch and give my two cents.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 5, 2011 in General, Movies

 

Leave a Reply

 
