RSS

Five

10 Jan

The boy is five years old. How quickly the time has flown by.

In the past year he has grown by such leaps and bounds. A few little snippets:

  • We moved into our new house and he picked out the colors for his room. He wanted red doors so we painted the inside panels red and put a zig zag stripe on the walls.
  • He slowly stopped acting like his sister was such a bother and started to try and teach her things. He even asked me when we were going to “make her a big sister.”
  • He discovered volcanoes. and earthquakes and tornadoes.  He now plans on being a veterinarian that works on tigers and an amateur volcanologist.
  • He drew an amazingly accurate map from Margaret’s House to our house. It was awesome.
  • He learned that Elena does not have a penis and that while he’s ridiculously observant, obviously he misses some stuff.
  • We became aware that he is a Lego savant. So far this year he has built a oil tanker, a house and an airplane with very minimal help, following the directions with ease.   I am truly amazed at the things he has created!
  • He’s graduated to a real model train set and is sharing his geo-trax with Elena more readily.
  • When he gets angry, he scrunches up his face and mumbles under his breath. It makes me laugh and I have to try so hard to suppress it.
  • The rock economy is working great. The positive change in his behavior is hard to put into words, it absolutely made the difference.
  • He laughs a lot. He loves to cuddle with his mama and to read books. He is always willing to give me a hug and let me know that he loves me.
  • He has amassed an army of stuffed tigers and he loves each of them fiercely. They have terribly high pitched “voices” and I wish they wouldn’t talk so much.

I could go on and on. Five years ago standing in the NICU, I couldn’t see what an amazing little guy he’s become. I thought I loved him then, but it’s nothing compared to now.

I can’t wait to see what this new year brings. More Chinese class, more Legos. His first day of school.  More hugs and laughs and time together. I wish I could freeze him right here but I can’t wait to see how he grows.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in Jeffrey, love

 

One response to “Five

  1. Brian Meehan

    January 11, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Won’t it be fun to look back at this next year, when he turns 6, to see how much farther he’s come still?

     

Leave a Reply

 
