RSS

What dreams may come

26 Oct

So we don’t really let Jeffrey watch tv. For a multitude of reasons but it’s a decision that we’ve been quite happy with and for now, tv is a special occasion in our house. (Excluding any and all Steeler games. The children are encouraged to yell, cheer and wave their Terrible Towels.)

Anyway, it’s been a pretty new thing, that I’ve been letting Jeffrey watch a movie or a tv show when Elena goes down for her nap on Sundays. I figure its a way to introduce him to some pop culture and a good downtime activity since he doesn’t nap anymore. This weekend we were cruising through Netflix instant and came across Short Circuit. You may remember “Johnny 5 is alive” from the 80’s. A classic robot comes to life movie with Steve Guttenburg, Ally Sheedy and some guy who isn’t Indian pretending that he is. I loved this movie when I was a kid, so did Brian and we figured it’s PG, it’ll be fine.  I was a little concerned about the portrayal of the army as idiots that just blow shit up but I figured that I need to lighten up a little. He liked the movie, told me “Mama, it was all real. Except the parts with the robots.”

So at 9pm Jeffrey wakes up crying and comes downstairs. “Mama, I had a bad dream.” I start mentally kicking myself for showing him this movie that obviously frightened him and gave him nightmares.  I tell him it’s okay, that it was just a pretend movie and there’s nothing to be scared of.  He answers me “I know, I’m not scared of the movie. I had a bad dream about the people eater.”

This is the part where I slap myself in the head. Earlier Elena had on a purple shirt with dots on it and I started singing “It was a one eyed, one horned, flying purple people eater, and it sure looked good to me.”* That is what he had a nightmare about.  I comforted him, told him it was just a silly song and put him back to bed.

Just to show you; it’s never the thing you’re worried about. It’s some dumb thing you never even thought of.

*I know the lyrics are wrong, Brian already made fun of me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 26, 2010 in Jeffrey, Parenting is hard, sleep

 

One response to “What dreams may come

  1. jen brugger

    January 7, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    parenting is hard. i heard beanie say shit. i smacked my head on the door one night and nicked myself all at the same time…i yelled shit thinking she was asleep. serves me right.
    now..no more purple people eaters

     

Leave a Reply

 
