RSS

We’ve come so far since yesterday

13 Oct

I realize that I’ve basically given up on blogging as life rears its head and drowns away all of my free time.  But I’m not going to feel guilty. I love having a place to express myself even if I don’t take advantage of it all the time.

I ran into an old friend from high school yesterday. It was nice we’re both doing well. I was surprised that he recognized me with my new hair and whatnot.

It got me thinking. When I was in high school, I sincerely wondered if I would ever reach a stretch of happiness. If I would ever have two days connect where something terrible didn’t happen. Now these were the unmedicated musings of an extremely depressed girl. I wasn’t seeing a counselor yet, or at least I wasn’t actually telling my counselor any of the things that needed to be said. I was sick and for the life of me couldn’t see the sun for the clouds.

Now… it’s pretty amazing. Now, I have difficulty thinking of a day that didn’t have something wonderful in it. Whether it is my child giggling or talking to Brian, I feel like I have just about everything. Our life isn’t’ perfect but I’m so far and away better than I ever thought possible.
I still suffer from depression but it doesn’t cripple me. I married a man who “gets” me and trusts me. I will follow him to the ends of the Earth because we’re a better together than apart. My children are frustrating and amazing. I’d hate to imagine life without them because they have opened my heart up to so much joy. I have friends that I love and family that loves me.

I’m happy. so very happy.

It’s not a place I ever imagined. It’s better.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in depression, happy, love

 

Leave a Reply

 
