RSS

zzzz…

09 Feb

I am so tired.
Why will the child not sleep? Why must he stand at the side of my bed and whine and moan. No words of course, for that would only serve to help me and that is not what this is about.
What is this about? Change. Fear. Anxiety. Excitement.  Some mix of them?
I don’t know.

All that I know is that he’s FOUR. And I want him to stay in bed for a whole stinking night. I want no excuses of being cold or thirsty or loosing a stuffed friend. I just want blessed sleep and the knowledge that no little feet are padding around playing with things.  I want the security of knowing that the baby will not be awakened by strange freakouts like “a cup was eating another cup!”

I am tired.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in Jeffrey, Parenting is hard

 

4 responses to “zzzz…

  1. Kellie

    February 9, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I’ve found myself, lately, becoming increasingly annoyed at bedtime. Fortunately, not for the reasons you are. Just little annoying things: stuffed friends aren’t in the right places, her night-night water needs to be colder, her white noise machine is too quiet, her nightlight is driving her nuts, her pillow is hot.

    Really? Go to fricken bed! When I get into bed, I am beyond happy. I don’t give a shite if my pillow is hot or my night-night water needs to be colder.

    Kids. Seriously. WTH?!

     
  2. jen brugger

    February 9, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    before you know it he will once again have his own room adn things will go back to normal and you will be allowed to sleep.
    we are going through this now with beanie. there are days when being a parent sucks…why dont they have an off button or a I’m getting into things I shouldnt be in button…that would be nice.
    good luck

     
  3. Debbie

    February 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    My kids did this for a while, and we came up with a great system that really worked! They started each night with 5 pennies, and each time they came in our room, they got a penny taken away. The next morning, they could “buy” candy for 2 pennies. After a couple of days, we reduced the number of starting pennies to 3. This really worked for us! The kids were 3 and 5 at the time if that helps.

     
    • Dani

      February 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      That sounds like a good plan. Thanks for the idea. I’m really at the point of trying anything. Although, I will say he did stay in bed last night after having his Grr taken away for two whole days and was very proud of himself this morning. So, I’m hopeful. Dani

       

Leave a Reply

 
