RSS

Chores?

05 Feb

I know he’s only four but we’ve decided on a “chore chart” for Jeffrey. I’m trying to give him the idea that certain activities such as hitting your sister or not listening to Mama and Dada are unacceptable. As well as teach him that it is a priviledge to go to the Strong Museum and the zoo.

So he’s got four tasks at home and three at school
At home:

  • Listen to Mama and Dada
  • Be a good Helper
  • Get dressed by yourself
  • Stay in bed all night

At School:

  • Morning behavior
  • Take a nap
  • Afternoon behavior

I know that the first two are nebulous arbitrary things but I really do want him to TRY and listen to us a little better and he requested that being a good helper be on the chart.  The others are the constant problems we run into with him. Asking him to get dressed is an arduous task that involves much hand wringing and excuse giving. I have no patience for this. Also, since we’ve been at Bridget’s and in the same room at night, he is constantly waking up and arguing with us about staying in bed or climbing in with us.

As far as school goes, I just want him to behave for his teachers and get a little more feedback on each day.

The idea is that he gets a sticker for each task that he completes each day and at the end of each week, depending on how many stickers he has, he can choose a reward. I don’t have it all worked out yet but I’m planning on small rewards like; watching a video, getting dessert after dinner, staying up 15 minutes later on Saturday night or getting an extra book before bed.  More stickers can yield big rewards like a trip to the zoo or the museum.

I hope it works. I think it will. His teachers think that he will respond to it and I value their input. I’m hoping that it just makes him a tiny bit more aware of how he is acting. Not to mention that I’ve found (contrary to my instincts) that having him work towards a reward works so much better than taking things away as punishment.

And if it doesn’t work or he’s too young for it? We’ll try it out and shelve it till later. It certainly can’t hurt.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Jeffrey, parenting

 

3 responses to “Chores?

  1. Kellie

    February 5, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I implemented a chore chart with Morgan. Things like putting her dishes in the sink (or in the dishwasher), picking up her toys before nap/bed, listening and remembering her manners. At the end of the day, if she’s done all of those things, she gets a sticker. At the end of the week, if all spaces are filled in with stickers, she gets a dollar for her Piggy 🙂 The girl LOVES putting the coins in her bank. She knows when it’s full, we’ll take her to the bank to dump the coins in the sorter and we put half in her savings account and the other half is used to buy a new movie she wants or something else.

    I haven’t been hitting this real heavy lately–we had an even bigger chore to tackle (potty training! Yes, I know. I suck.) so, the chore chart got shoved to the back burner for a bit. It’s coming back out Sunday and we’ll start a whole new week.

    I think he and Morgan are at the perfect age to have chores 🙂

     
  2. Bethany

    February 5, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    They are the perfect age for chores. Add folding washcloths to the list. Ebaby loved to do that! Of course I had to refold them but at six she is an expert washcloth/handtowel/napkin/dishtowel folder.

     
  3. jen brugger

    February 7, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    good for you guys for starting chores. we’ve started that in our house as well. when I get up in the morning, victoria has my chore list allready to go for me..she likes to add things on during the day though! ha
    good luck

     

Leave a Reply

 
