RSS

Love Thursday -Snuggling edition

04 Feb

Let me start with I’m not a big fan of having kids sleep in bed with you. I highly value my adult time with my husband and the kids disrupt both our sleep patterns and our intimacy. I know if works for other people but it’s just not my thing.

But since we’ve been at Bridget’s, we’ve been sharing a room with Jeffrey. We have dressers lined up between us so that it sort of creates a wall but I can hear his every noise at night.  For the past week or so, every morning at around 5:30 or 5:45, a few minutes before the alarm goes off, Jeffrey walks over to my side of the bed and sleepy eyed and touseled he asks if he can come into bed with us. He climbs up with his Grr and snuggles next to me and promptly falls back asleep.

I love these moments. I don’t encourage it in the middle of the night but a few minutes before the alarm? I love my snuggling. There is something so life affirming about having a sleepy warm body cuddled up to you.  Smelling the baby shampoo that we still use on his hair and feeling him curl his body around mine.

I know that all too soon, he’ll be too old to cuddle and snuggle and that he won’t ask to come in and be warm. He’s growing so quickly from toddler to preschooler to grown up boy. While I’m glad he sleeps the nights in his bed, I treasure the moments that I get to press my face into his soft touseled hair and lavish him with all the love that I have.

Happy Love Thursday. I hope on these cold mornings, you all have someone to snuggle with.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Jeffrey, love

 

One response to “Love Thursday -Snuggling edition

  1. Kellie

    February 4, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Snuggling IS fun. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
