RSS

Why did we want to move again?

16 Dec

While screwing around with my blog theme I’ve come to the realization that I have left the entire house drama off of the blog.

Where we left off: The house was for sale. No one wanted our poor beleagered house with plaster walls. *wanders off and sobs quietly for house*

Where we are now: We got an offer. Shortly before Thanksgiving. (I know! I am all about the timely delivery of news.) We negotiated on a price that I was okay with and agreed to have an engineers inspection. Oh and they wanted to move in by Jan 1.

Ha Ha Ha Ha.

Can you hear the stress/hysteria in that laughter because COME ON! We politely negotiated it back to January 8th and are paying them $500 to cover the costs of renting back their house for a week. The issue is not so much the timing but that we will have been in the house for 5 years on the 6th of January. And right now that means a tax credit of $6500 if we are under contract with another house by April.  We are not losing that credit over six days.

Then came the engineers inspection. They hired the engineering inspector from Hell. Seriously, he called our house “neglected.” Yeah. I replaced the roof, all of the windows, refinished the floors and upgraded the electrical. But there’s a loose brick outside. Clearly we don’t take care of the house or care about it in anyway. Argh. We came extremely close to bagging the deal over it. I figured I wasn’t in a hurry and I didn’t want to move that quickly anyway. But Brian and our Realtor worked it out. Thankfully I don’t actually deal with real people because I have a tendency to explode over little things. It just pissed me off. I love this house. It just isn’t close enough to work or daycare. If it was in the right location? We would have stayed there forever.

So now we’re out on or around Jan 8th, where will we live? Spin the wheel, nobody knows.

Okay not true. We’ll be bunking in with Bridget and Danna. They (and Meghan especially) have agreed to let us stay with them for the interm.
More about that later.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2009 in housing, Update, Woo Hoo!

 

2 responses to “Why did we want to move again?

  1. Bethany

    December 16, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    What’s a new roof and new windows when there is a loose brick? Some people just need a smack upside the head.

     
    • Dani

      December 17, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Yeah, we’ve only been in the house for five years. We’ve made some serious upgrades. It really offended me. I always figured the engineers inspection was to tell you if major sh#t needed to be fixed. Not so you could get discounts from the selling price.

       

Leave a Reply

 
