RSS

Christmas gifts are strange

15 Dec

What the hell is up with Zsu Zsu pets?

We were in Toys R Us this weekend along with the worlds most unhappy people and there was this giant line forming by the front door. I wondered what it was about but didn’t bother checking it out. We had a sitter for a few hours and I wasn’t about to waste it on a line in TRU. This is how Brian and I speak now. We’re all initials and spelling out everything. God help us when Jeffrey can S-P-E-L-L.

Anyway. We”re about to checkout and I realize that we don’t have a stocking for Ellie. No big deal, I tell Brian to wait in line and I’ll go grab one and be back. The stockings are over by the front door next to this giant line of people. I start to excuse myself through the line to get up to where the cheap traditional red stockings are when this guy shouts at me. “Hey. No cutting!” I turned and explained that I was just looking for a stocking and that I wasn’t trying to jump the line.  He warned me that I better not be. Dude, it is not cool to menace other parents in a toy store. Chances are there are some children present.

I grab my stocking. Happy with my $2 find and I turn to one of the women in front. “What are you guys waiting for anyway?” “Zhu Zhu Hampsters” she says. Seriously? They are fake hamsters that can either be in nuzzle or play mode. You can buy them a giant habitrail. for your fake hamster.And you can stand in line (for several hours). Buy a real one. Out of the store in ten minutes.

Okay I realize they are less messy. But hamsters? Not a whole lot of work overall. I kept several alive throughout college. I totally don’t get the idea of fake pets. I’ll keep my real cat and the kids will get real hamsters if and when they’re ready.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2009 in craziness

 

4 responses to “Christmas gifts are strange

  1. Mary

    December 15, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Hopefully the zsu zsu hamster doesn’t come with a psycho mode where it attacks pencils.

     
  2. Liane Knapp

    December 15, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    You mean you when I spell out BAG you won’t make fun of me this time HAHAHAHAHAHA Miss you guys

     
  3. Kellie

    December 17, 2009 at 9:33 am

    *I* was on the Zhu Zhu Pet bandwagon. Of course, I got on it when I couldn’t find the stupid things in stores and resorted to paying $74 for TWO of them on eBay.

    THEN the safety concern was raised, I panicked and promptly sold those damn things for $70.

    THEN it came out they were fine; no cause for concern.

    THEN I felt bad for taking away something cool from my kid.

    THEN I decided to go all Zhu Zhu Pet for her birthday.

    THEN I decided to buy her a big ass, expenive train table for Christmas.

    THEN I ate Rice Krispie treats.

    😉

     
    • Dani

      December 17, 2009 at 10:17 am

      Hey I go for whatever my kid wants and thankfully that wasn’t it. He’s all trains, trains and more trains. He’s sorta like a zombie engineer. 🙂
      But the people getting all in my face? All I wanted was a stocking dude.

       

Leave a Reply

 
