RSS

House update

09 Nov

I really would like to be posting here more often. But I don’t even have time to update my facebook status. Seriously, it’s been like two weeks. The kids are time consuming. I haven’t had pictures printed in about a hundred years and I’m tired.whatever. Such is life.

People came and looked at the house on Friday. They were insane. They didn’t like it because there “was just so much work to be done.” Gasp, the walls they are all plaster. And they couldn’t live like that. All those walls would have to be taken down and replaced.

I know I’m selling this house and possibly a bit biased… but the walls are not in terrible condition. They are plaster and lathe; fairly common in a 103 year old house. But seriously. If they can find a house in Monroe county that is 2200+ square feet, brand new roof, brand new windows, completely refinished hardwoods in 90% of the house. AND has all the plaster ripped out and replaced with drywall? For 135K? Then let me know because I want that house. I’m looking in that price range for myself right now and I can tell you; all that is out there in that price range are tiny little  splits and ranch houses.

It just makes me frustrated. However, we’ve decided that we’re not going to pull the house come December. Since they extended the housing credit, there are more buyers looking so our realtor wants us to keep it on the market. She did say if we get to it, that we can block off time during the holidays. I just don’t want to have to have the house looking like perfection between Christmas and Jeffrey’s birthday. I’d like him to be able to play with stuff and not have to immediately pick it up and put it away.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 9, 2009 in housing

 

One response to “House update

  1. Kellie

    November 20, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    I can’t even IMAGINE the stress of buying and selling a house. It’s a stress I hope to, one day, deal with. Sadly, though, I seem to have lost the majority of that hope.

    I’m 90% okay with that.

    I think.

     

Leave a Reply

 
