RSS

Sleep deprivation

23 Jul

Baby is not sleeping well. Or more accurately, the baby is not allowing me to sleep well. She continues to go for six hour stretches just not at times that are convenient for sleeping. Last night she went to sleep at 9pm, I woke her at 11pm to feed her and then she was up again at 1am, 2:15am, 3:30am and 5am. I can not survive on this amount of broken sleep. Again more accurately, I feel I cannot do my job safely with this amount of sleep.

And she’s still not sleeping in a bed, she’s in the swing. She reacts to lying flat on a bed (or crib, basinett, floor, basically any flat surface) with mild hysteria and much screaming. Maybe we should stop electrifying the cribs? But seriously, I’m ready for some sleep training and I don’t know where to begin. Jeffrey was just so easy as far as sleeping went, I’m not sure where to start. She’ll be four months old in a few days. I don’t want these patterns to become routine.

As far as the older child is concerned? We’re potty training and his nights are occasionally peppered with night terrors. His rescheduled surgery is on for the 10th of August. I can’t wait for all this crap to be done. I need some calm to recharge and feel human again. And possible a whole night of sleep as well.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2009 in Elena, Parenting is hard

 

2 responses to “Sleep deprivation

  1. jen brugger

    July 23, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    It’ll be alright. logan didnt sleep through the night until he was 9 months old. I just got used to it and i still had beanie during the day. I know it’s hard…but it will pass and she will sleep through the night and so will you.
    as for the electrifiying the crib…yeah, bad idea…all they do is scream. we turned ours down to a lower level, that might help!

     
  2. Kellie

    July 24, 2009 at 11:21 am

    You poor girl 😦 I do NOT function well on broken sleep. Nowhere near well.

    Morgan slept the first 4 months in her Papasan chair, in the crib. She had reflux and couldn’t lay flat without either throwing up or choking.

    Hang in there, girly. It WILL get better!

     

Leave a Reply

 
