RSS

PT, OT and therapy, Oh my

15 Jun

We’ve had Jeffrey re-evaluated for physical therapy. Turns out he is severly delayed at this point. While he did well in some areas, in others (such as gross motor; running,  jumping etc.) he falls in the 2nd percentile. Needless to say, he’ll be receiving services. Twice a week for 30 minutes for PT and once a week for 30 minutes for OT. They won’t start  until the fall because the school system is weird. Whatever, he’s getting services.

The part that makes me unhappy? Having to listen to the evaluators go down the list of deficiencies on the conference call the other day. I understand that they need to go through everything with us but the Mama Bear in me just really hated to hear the laundry list of things wrong with my child.

I loved EI, I know that the therapists for  the school system will be just as good (they’re from the same agencies after all). I just feel like my little guy is perfect and awesome the way he is and it’s difficult to admit that he needs help to catch up with the other kids. I also realize that I am in no way articulating myself well. I’m not upset that he needs services or that he’s getting them.

It’s just hard. I’m not worried that his physical issues will hold him back. He’s a very active child and I don’t doubt that he will overcome the issues that he faces. It’s just that I also know he can’t keep up with the other kids and I dread the day that he begins to realize it. He’s spectacular and I don’t ever want him to think otherwise.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 15, 2009 in Jeffrey, Parenting is hard

 

One response to “PT, OT and therapy, Oh my

  1. Jen Brugger

    June 20, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    He will grow up and accept the limitations he has, no matter how big or small they maybe. He will love himself and so will others. Others will accept Jeffrey, the fun, amazingly talented, outgoing and wonders of conversation that is your son.

    Jeffrey is an amazing kid and i wish my child was more like him. you guys are wonderful parents and in turn will raise 2 fabulous kids that will grow up and be all that they can be and make you proud ( I know, they already do!)
    So stop worrying, yeah, i know, hard to do. He’ll catch up and probably surpass many kids the same age or older.

     

Leave a Reply

 
