RSS

Back

05 Jun

I’m back.

Back to work.  I have to leave the littlest thing at daycare.Totally not fair.
My determination is that 6 weeks is laughable maternity leave.  No wonder it’s so difficult to establish good breastfeeding habits in the US, we barely get started before we’re shuttled back to our jobs and into harried day to day life. It makes me disappointed that I didn’t get more time with Elena, that I had to use up all of my vacation and sick time just to get a few extra weeks with her. Makes Canada seem like a better place every day.

It seemed so much easier with Jeffrey but then I guess it was. I went back to work and he stayed with my mom. Then she went home and he spent the summer with Brian. He didn’t actually start daycare until he was almost 9 months old. Even though it wasn’t me at home with him, he got lots of special one on one time with family. I didn’t feel like I was abandoning him.

I love our daycare. I have been super happy with them but she’s just so little and I’m not ready to give her to someone else everyday yet.

I cried everytime I thought about her on Wednesday.

In a lot of ways, I am glad to be back at work. I love my job. I enjoy what I do and they are really struggling without me there.

But. Where I Really want to be? Is back at home with Elena. It’s hard to be ready this soon to give her up.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 5, 2009 in Elena, Parenting is hard

 

One response to “Back

  1. Kellie

    June 7, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    After I had Morgan, I was suppose to return to work a few months later. I’d been promoted while on maternity leave and while excited to start a new job, I was a wreck at the thought of leaving Morgan. More so than I think should be “normal.”

    So, I didn’t. I was fortunate enough to be able to stay home with her. I HATE that moms have a baby, get a few weeks off and then have to return or lose the position they worked so hard for.

    I’m sorry the 6 weeks went by so fast. I’m sorry it hurts you to leave her. Wish I could change it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
