RSS

Welcome back

20 Apr

So. The baby is here. She is beautiful and perfect and amazing. Once again, I am struck by how much love a child brings. Once again, I am surprised by how exhaustive this whole process is.

We’re still having trouble with our days and nights being flipped around. Somewhere around 4am each night, she wakes up and just stares at me. I’m trying to keep her awake a little more during the day but it’s a tough sell.
We’re moving a little more away from the world where Elena will only sleep on people. Her favorite spot is still nestled on my chest or snuggled next to me on the couch or bed. She’s a spectacular snuggler and I know that these moments will go by all too quiockly and I’ll wish for the days when she could curl up in my arms.

Jeffrey is beginning to acknowledge her existance. For the first two weeks, he pretty much just veered past her to get to his toys.  But… last week he actually tried to sit next to her and has been dealing well with sharing my lap for books and stories.

Anyway. Really wanted to let you all know that I am still kicking around. The baby is so spectacular and amazing. I already can’t imagine life without her. I’m so glad that we have this new angel in our lives.

Hopefully, now that we’re getting on more of a schedule, I will be able to post a little more.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2009 in Elena

 

3 responses to “Welcome back

  1. Kellie

    April 20, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I’m so happy your little family is doing well. Congrats again to all of you 🙂

     
  2. PhoneDad

    April 20, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Jeffrey and I are both very proud of you.

     
  3. Debbie

    April 21, 2009 at 11:49 am

    So glad things are going well! (except for the 4 AM thing 🙂 ). I hope she starts sleeping longer in the morning for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
