RSS

The pitter patter of little feet

10 Mar

On Sunday Jeffrey woke a little later than usual, let us sleep for a bit before piping up that he wanted to “wake up now!”
Brian went to take his shower and I told Jeffrey to come snuggle with me in bed for a few minutes. Mama was not ready to get up and face the world yet. To my surprise, he complied; thumped across the hallway and hopped up into bed with me. After about thirty seconds his face registered alarm “I need my Grr.” He slid out of bed, ran across the hall and retreived his stuffed tiger from his bedroom. I hear him thump back into our bedroom where he looked up at me in bed and determined “I need my stool”. He thumps back across the hallway, picks up his stepstool and drags it back next to our bed. Finally… he climbs back up into bed with me and snuggled and cuddled under the blankets.

This exchange? To me is one of the reasons why it’s worth being a parent. I love listening to his little feet pad back and forth between our rooms. I love that he treasures his Grr and needs to share him with me. I love the smell of his little boy head nestled against me in the covers. I love that he wants to be with me and snuggle a little in the mornings. It’s just one of those moments, that you treasure in their simplicity and wish for more of.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2009 in happy, Jeffrey, love

 

3 responses to “The pitter patter of little feet

  1. Bonnie Malek

    March 11, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Soon you will have two little treasures to snuggle with. The joy will just keep getting better and better.

     
  2. Kurt

    March 11, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Kudos for noticing and appreciating the little things in life.

     
  3. Steph

    March 12, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Your are lucky to have those experiences. Treasure them always.

    Steph:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
