RSS

Folding Paper

26 Feb

So I’ve sorta been hibernating in my busyness lately. We’re trying to get ready for the baby, trying to get work ready for me to be out, trying to get Jeffrey ready for surgery and trying to close up the scrapbooking store.

Oh, I hadn’t mentioned that before? Yeah. I kinda kept hoping if I didn’t say it out loud that it wasn’t really true. We invested in The Paper Garden. It was going really well, it seemed like we were really on the right track and we had a lot of great ideas to keep it going. October was our best month ever and we were very positive. Of course, I’m sure you’re all aware of what else happened in October; the stock market plummeted and people all the sudden decided maybe not to spend any money anymore. So our best month ever was followed by November, December and January; Our worst months ever. So bad that the hole of debt was becoming insurmountable and who knew,  our landlord actually wants to be paid occasionally.

Anyway, if we thought that the economy might pick up soon, like by this summer or so? We would have fought to continue. But it just doesn’t seem like that’s going to happen. So we made the extremely difficult, very sad decision to close the doors.

I’m really a mix of emotions about it. We lost our investment, but we gained some amazing friends and partners. Bridget and her family are truly outstanding people and I’m honored that we got to work together. I guess if I had to do it again? I still would. I still believe in the store. I still believe that we had an amazing place and that if the economic climate wasn’t such as it is. We would have survived and eventually thrived. It just happened in a moment where we all had no more to give. Had it been a year from now? I think we would have weathered the storm. I’m just sad.

Every now and then you get lucky enough to find a place that just fills some need deep inside  you.  The Paper Garden was definitely such a place. It will be loved and mourned. I’m glad that we tried to save it. It deserved to be saved and even though we didn’t make it, I will never look back and wonder if I could have helped. Brian’s favorite quote is  “I regret not the things I’ve done, but those I did not do.” We may not have succeeded but I will not regret trying and I will always be proud.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2009 in TPG, Update

 

3 responses to “Folding Paper

  1. Debbie

    March 3, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I’m so sorry 😦 I can only imagine how hard it is to close something that meant so much.

     
  2. Kellie

    March 3, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Awww….that sucks. I’m so sorry the store had to be closed. I know it meant a lot to you and you had really high hopes. But, the bright side? You gained a wonderful friendship 🙂

     
  3. MaryP

    March 4, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    What a shame. But you know, I’ve heard of people who have more than one business before they land in the right one at the right time, and it just flies! You’ve gained a friend, you’ve a heap of experience you didn’t have before… who knows what the future might hold?

     

Leave a Reply

 
