RSS

Three

07 Jan

Three years ago…
I was frightened and excited and worried about  what the future would hold. I looked at this tiny infant that had been gifted to me and shuddered at the responsibility and care that he would need. I worried that his road through the NICU would be tough, I worried that he would have physical difficulties, I worried that developmentally he would lag. I worried that I wouldn’t be up to the task as a mother.
But I also marveled at this feisty child that had already fought so hard to be in our livesimg_0917.JPG

Two years ago…
Most of my fears were gone. The kid ate cake like it was the greatest thing on Earth. He was growing, he was walking, he did physical therapy but was already showing how bright he could be. He was the best little guy we could hope for.
School Picture

One year ago…
The kid was on the growth chart! A pretty amazing feat for a preemie. He no longer qualified for Early Intervention. Jeffrey’s personality began to develop. He started to have an imagination, cooking  us food and telling  us stories. He loves to talk. Oh Lord, the child can tell you stories about his animals and what they did at school. The things that pass his lips? Absolutely hysterical.
Hanging Out

Which brings us to today.
Today my amazing angel turns three. It’s hard to believe that he’s been in our lives for three whole years. He’s grown from a tiny angel to an amazing little person. He’s “big” now (just listen to him, he’ll tell you). He loves books and reading with you, he snuggles and giggles still. He throws fantasticly dramatic tantrums that make you laugh with the Drama of it all. He is logical and possibly a bit OCD. We love him. We take thousands of pictures of him and try our best to enjoy every moment we get.

Every day that passes, he just gets better. Two was better than one and I hope three lives up to the standard. We have an exciting year ahead of us. A new sister, new friends, new experiences and new chances to see his personality emerge.

Happy Birthday Jeffrey Loren.
I love you more than I ever thought possible. I hope that today and everyday brings brighter and better memories for you. You are my angel. I look forward to watching you grow and learn through the next year.

 

Happy Birthday wishes as well to Victoria and Morgan. May the next year be (at least) as fabulous as the one that’s passed.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2009 in happy, Jeffrey

 

5 responses to “Three

  1. Steph

    January 7, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY JEFFREY!!!!!!

    I can’t believe that three years has passed. I wish I had more time to spend with you and we didn’t live so far away from eachother. You will always hold a special place in my heart. Hope to see you in about two weeks.

    Love
    Aunt Steph:)

     
  2. Debbie

    January 8, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Happy Birthday Jeffrey!!

    I hope it was a wonderful day!

     
  3. Rachel

    January 9, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Happy Birthday Jeffrey!

    A couple of days late.

     
  4. Kellie

    January 19, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I? SUCK!! Hope your birthday was great, little man!! I can’t believe you and Morgan are three and Victoria is two. Stop growing so fast! You’re making your parents feel old!!

    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
