RSS

Our child. A little bit crazy

09 Dec

So. Have I mentioned that almost three year olds are a slight bit erratic? Possibly schizophrenic or contain multiple personalities?

Here are some of the highlights:

This week, I have been hit with such amazing logic as… “Mama we can’t park here because it’s dirty.” Cue long whine … Perhaps the other row of parked cars had been steamcleaned and I didn’t notice?

Daycare has taught Jeffrey that hats and gloves must be worn outside. Commendable. Unfortunately outside to Jeffrey also includes the car.  So whenever his glove falls off in the car it is a major crisis that we should all leap to attention over. I have been unable to convince him that it’s okay to leave them in your pockets during car rides.

Yesterday I mentioned to Brian that I found it unusual that Jeffrey is so literal about the rules at daycare, but that it didn’t seem to matter when Mama makes the rules. From the backseat Jeffrey pipes up. “Mama doesn’t make rules, Melissa (one of his teachers at daycare) makes the rules.” So clearly what I say really doesn’t matter.

Did I tell you that Jeffrey believes that the Statue of Liberty is holding a birthday candle and a book for him? I find that one to be particularly precious.

He had a complete meltdown the other day because we made him spit out a piece of bread that he had been gumming for (literally) twenty minutes. He then spent 15 minutes on the floor screeching about how awful we were for taking his bread before popping up and asking “May I have some pudding, please?” The rest of the evening he was angelic. Seriously? My hair is turning grey as we speak.

On Sunday I attempted to put him down for a nap. Clearly a fruitless endeavor, we fought, he kept leaving his room and wandering about and finally I put up the gate in his doorway. I told him to play quietly and I would come get him in a bit. Fast forward about fortyfive minutes.
 Silence from upstairs.
I walk up to check on him. He is face down on the floor, forehead against the gate, with Grr and his blanket held tight, fast asleep.

So. He’s schizo but so absolutely fantastic as well. He cuddled up on the couch with us Sunday night and watched Rudolph for the first time. He was enthralled. And even more amazed that DVD’s work outside of trips to Grandma’s house. Apparently I had him convinced that they ONLY worked on the way to Pittsburgh and back.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2008 in Jeffrey

 

2 responses to “Our child. A little bit crazy

  1. Jen Brugger

    December 11, 2008 at 12:00 am

    thus husbands says to find a new daycare…atleast that’s what he would do. The statue of Liberty thing is cute…but it would frustrate me to no end to hear that someone else made the rules and mine don’t count.

    What about reverse logic…mommy put michelle in charge, therefore mommy is in charge…these are rules that mommy gave michelle.

    Kids, so cute, but so frustrating and aggrivating.
    Good luck!

     
  2. Dani

    December 11, 2008 at 9:02 am

    I figure it is a plus that he listens to anyone’s rules. I have learned by now that he behaves entirely differently for me versus anyone else.
    The thought of changing daycares would fill me with terror. I love these people and so does Jeffrey. I can’t imagine finding a better place.
    I’ve tried the reverse logic but it doesn’t matter. He just knows he doesn’t want to listen to me.

    Also. He doesn’t really listen any better for them. I told them this story and they all laughed because he NEVER keeps his gloves and hats on when they are outside. It’s a control thing that I’m driving and can’t give him my full attention.

     

Leave a Reply

 
