RSS

What’s in a name?

24 Nov

So. Not sure if anyone knew this or not, but it has not exactly been a war over baby names in our household. We actually talked about names for our children on our first (maybe second) date. I don’t know why we talked about it, just that it came up and we agreed. Thank goodness this one is a girl because we only picked out one for each sex. We were completely mystified as to what to name another boy.

For a boy; When Brian was a sophmore in high school, he and a friend (Jeff) decided that if they ever had children they would name them after each other. What boy (other than mine) does that? Anyway, Jeff passed away in an accident a few years later and we decided to name our son after him. So we have Jeffrey Loren.

For a girl; I have always loved the name Elena. It used to be the name of every heroine in the stories I would write and I researched the origin when I was in high school. I decided that if I ever had a child, this would be her name. Brian felt almost as strongly about Renee. So we decided (on that date) that we would name any future daughter, Elena Renee.

So. Random facts. Elena is of Greek origin. It means shining light or bright one and was the 192nd most popular baby name last year. Renee is Latin and means reborn. I don’t know why but I couldn’t name my child something that didn’t have a meaning that was hopeful.

My mother doesn’t like the name, but I personally feel she’s disqualified because she almost named me Driscilla (and still continues to like this name). Which I’m sorry, but I just think is awful. Thank you so much for naming me Danielle instead!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2008 in Elena, pregnancy

 

3 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. Rachel

    November 24, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    That is a beautiful name. I love it.

     
  2. MeMe

    November 25, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Happy to hear you’ve picked a name. Sounds very nice. It is so not like any of the other Great Grand Kids names, so I might be able to call her by her correct name,but don’t count on it. All the others sound alike. Very glad all is well this time. Love to Jeffrey and all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
