RSS

Howling at the moon

14 Nov

Last night while I was driving home with Jeffrey, he decided that Grr (his faithful stuffed tiger) needed to howl.
So the commenced howling. Howling can be described as an ear piercing screech lasting for about twelve seconds before taking a moment to breath into the next one.

I was not really amused.

Now I am trying to find a way to let Jeffrey know that this is inappropriate without yelling. Because yelling at him to stop yelling seems counter intuitive.

So I warned him that I would pull over the van and that Grr would have to sit up front with me if he wouldn’t quit howling. (Because of course, it wasn’t Jeffrey cauterwauling in the backseat, it was clearly Grr all on his own.)

He of course failed to listen. We pulled over and I took away Grr. I made him sit in the passenger seat where I could more closely moniter him. After a few minutes Jeffrey asked politely if he could have Grr back. He promised to stop “howling” and spent the rest of the ride home singing quietly.

I think I’m finally starting to get a handle on how to deal with these kinds of things. I’m sure that means stronger stuff is about to morph around the corner, but I’ll take my few days with pride.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Jeffrey

 

2 responses to “Howling at the moon

  1. Rachel

    November 14, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    If only things like this worked with Alyssa. She would have sat in the back screaming like a banshee!!

     
  2. Kelly

    November 15, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Thats awesome! I agree..yelling wouldn’t really have gotten you anywhere…Good luck on what is yet to come!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
