RSS

A rant and Jeffrey’s 1st teacher conference

16 Oct

This week is continuing the whirlwind nature of weeks past. Nothing much exciting is happening, mostly it’s just flying by.

I got moved to a new parking lot at work and it now takes between 11 and 15 minutes to walk to my car from the lab. I’m sure it won’t get any faster as weather becomes more inclement and I become more round. I hate the parking department. I don’t think that there is any possible way for me to express how profound my hatred for this department lies. In the time that I have been working here they have moved me from 3 different lots with little to no notice, given me a ticket for seeing my son in the NICU, twice (despite having a sticker that clearly allowed me to park – but you would have to actually look), lost my co-workers car key and then admitted that they’ve been having a rash of thefts of peoples keys, accidentally drove my van into a BUILDING and then gave me a ticket yesterday for not parking in the correct spot. All of these things have been taken care of (mostly, I still need to get an estimate on the damage from hitting the building so that they can pay to have it repaired), BUT to top it off, they’re absolute jerks when you go to talk to them about it. I remember getting a ticket for parking in the patient lot when I came into have my first ultrasound with Jeffrey. You know, the ultrasound where I was bleeding and thought I was having a miscarriage. I didn’t come in as an employee, I came in as a terrified pregnant woman and then had a $100 ticket for parking where I should have been able to park. Should you really have expected me to walk the ten minutes in from my normal lot on that day? Again, they did take care of it but I believe it had more to do with the fact that I was sobbing about losing my baby and less to do with actually trying to make things right.

Anyway. Wow that was quite a rant. If I ever go crazy, I guess you’ll know where I’ll start my path of destruction. They just drive me crazy. If they were simply nice when I went to talk to them, it would make it all okay but they immediately treat you like crap and being mean to people makes them want to be mean back.

Oh and today was our first parent-teacher conference for Jeffrey. WOW, he’s getting so big. Normally in a daycare, you wouldn’t have these but Margaret’s House is pretty academically oriented and they like touching base and filling us in on his progress. Of course we talk to his teachers every day but it was nice to see how he’s progressing in comparasin with everyone else. And he’s doing really well! He still lags a bit physically (jumping, running, tricycle riding skills) but they are willing to work with us to promote the usage of his left side and try to push two handed skills. I am so grateful that we have him somewhere that really tries to help us out with the therapy side of things. They are working on self help skills currently, learning to hand out plates and utensils at lunch and snack, washing their hands and remembering to dry them as well, as well as putting on shoes and coats themselves. Little things that we’ve noticed coming home with him. The one slightly negative thing is that he is not good at parallel play. He either wants all of something or nothing. But his teachers say that if they start him out playing with (or near) someone else he will try, it’s more when he starts out independantly that he doesn’t like to join in later. They’re not worried or anything, just that it’s a little unusual toddler behavior and they’ve noticed it a little more lately.
But all in all, he’s doing really well and they enjoy him. He loves to sing for and with them and it makes me glad that when he’s not with us, he’s in a place that cares and nurtures him.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2008 in Jeffrey, rant

 

5 responses to “A rant and Jeffrey’s 1st teacher conference

  1. Mary

    October 16, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Viva la Revolution!!!! (against UofR Parking)

     
  2. Rachel

    October 17, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I hope they plan on letting you park close as your pregnancy progresses! If not, that’s some bullshit!

    Glad to hear that Jeffrey is doing so well!

     
  3. Kelly

    October 18, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I’m so glad to hear your parent-teacher conference went well! As for the parking…I would definitely beg/plea for them to let you park closer as you become “more round” (I’m using your words) Speaking of which, how’s the pregnacy going?

     
  4. Kellie

    October 18, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Glad the conference went well!!

    I had parking issues when I worked for the State. The list for the garage was long and the first 6 months I worked there, I had to pay $7 a day to park in a lot 4 blocks from my office. When I got pregnant, I started parking at the metered spots close to my building and that cost me $10.50 a day. As I got bigger, they moved people around on the garage list and got me in.

    So, I get the frustrations with parking issues. I’m just glad I never had to deal with it nearly as bad as you have it.

    🙂

     
  5. Dani

    October 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Yeah, they are totally not going to move me as I become more pregnant. I could probably pay ten times more and park in the parking garage (only on the 5th or 6th floor of course) or get a handicapped permit. However, a handicapped sticker would only move me to those spots in the lot I am already in. So I’d be twenty feet closer. Besides I figure I’m on my feet all day anyway, the walk in won’t kill me. I just wish they weren’t such jerks about it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
