RSS

This post clearly goes on a tangent and never winds back.

07 Oct

I’m heading into week 15 (as of Thursday) of pregnancy with no major issues so far. I’m actually beginning to feel a bit (dare I say it) positive about the whole thing.

We has another ultrasound about a week and a half ago. It was to measure the nuchal fold and that along with a blood test gives you the risks of Down’s syndrome and you can decide from there whether you want more testing or not. I’ve been a little surprised at the vitriol on the message boards over whether on not to have this screening.  Apparently a lot of people don’t have it done because they feel they would never terminate a pregnancy and the results wouldn’t matter to them.

I don’t know if it would influence any decision we would make but I do believe that being informed is always the right way to move forward. I think knowing that you may have a special needs child is a good thing as  you traverse the land of new parenting. We chose not to have it done with Jeffrey because our age risks were so low but then the ultrasound measurements kept showing that his limbs were short and we instead ended up having an amnio to rule out most genetic defects. I just remember being scared that something was wrong and that we couldn’t fix it and realizing that the first (and occasionally biggest) part of parenting is fear.

Anyway we chose to have it done with Future Child because I didn’t want to move further down the road without all the information I could possibly get. Our risks are 1 in 10,000 after the testing and I’m pretty comfortable with that.

After Jeffrey’s birth, I realized that no matter what you do right and how careful you are, you may just end up with that terrifying situation anyway. And nothing can really prepare you for it. Thankfully, th one foundation I came home with after Jeffrey was the realization that I have a strong marriage and that we can and will make it through whatever life throws at us.

There are so many little things about this (completely different and equally amazing) pregnancy that brings back the memories of what it was like after Jeffrey was born. I think somethings just take time to really process and I think it gives me a unique perspective on the way that I view this new journey. I hope this one takes me to the end. I really want to experience being big and uncomfortable and clearly clearly pregnant. I know everyone tells you how awful it is but trust me, you would miss it if it was taken away from you.

Anyway. Almost 15 weeks. I’m already in maternity clothing and it’s definitely a different ride this time. Here’s hoping for 25 more.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 7, 2008 in Elena, pregnancy

 

One response to “This post clearly goes on a tangent and never winds back.

  1. Rachel

    October 8, 2008 at 11:40 am

    So glad to hear that things are going well!! I am wishing you a happy, healthy pregnancy and, um, I expect to see some baby bump pics!

     

Leave a Reply

 
