RSS

A little help for my friends

09 Sep

So in the tradition of trying our best to help out other people. I ran across this today. Basically, this guy’s son has been diagnosed with a rare form of brain cancer and is looking for some donations because his insurance won’t cover the treatment that could save his son. Here’s a quote from the site:

“As many of you know my son has been diagnosed with a very rare form of brain cancer. This is something that has devastated and displaced my family (my wife and I have 3 kids). We were supposed to go to New York City for a treatment that would help him. But we hit a snag.

Our insurance will not pay for the treatment and the hospital will not take us now since the insurance will not pay for it. The cost of the treatment is $100,000. This is something that is far beyond what I or my family can afford. But I will do anything to get my son the treatment he so desperately needs. This treatment has shown promise and can extend my son’s life.

So my wife and I are asking you for help. Our goal is to get 100,000 people to donate at least a dollar. That will help us get our son the treatment that he needs. “

So go give him a dollar or five. As far as I’ve been able to determine, this is legitimate and anyone who’s ever had a sick kid should understand how helpless this family must feel. I’m trying to do my little part to urge others to reach out a little and help those around you.

Either click the link above or click here to donate.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2008 in Help!

 

3 responses to “A little help for my friends

  1. Rachel

    September 9, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Did you see this on Fark?

     
  2. nkartist06

    September 10, 2008 at 12:30 am

    As far as I know, I live in maine it may be different in other places. But here no establishment is allowed to deny treatment, wither or not you have insurance.

    Not to sound like a cynic, but make sure that your life is straight. before you go and try to save someone else. Pray for them, pray for them to have strength, pray their son lives, pray that they have no struggles, but make sure you make it.

    -Nk

     
  3. Dani

    September 10, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Yep. Saw this on fark. Thought it would be nice to send my support towards it.

    Maybe Maine is different, but after working at a hospital in NY for seven years, there are many reasons why establishments can deny treatment. They generally won’t deny immediate lifesaving (ie emergency department) treatment but they can deny almost anything that is considered “elective.” In this case, it looks like the treatment they are looking for is a clinical trial and thus your insurance or the hospital can say no if it would be too much of a financial burden on the institution.

    Also. I know that I have a lot of issues, many of which I have aired to the public, but I do believe that my life is straight, or at least that I’m moving in the right direction. And I refuse to believe that trying to help someone else is bad (especially in the limited capacity that I am attempting here). I’m married to a man who gives selflessly of himself and as my life goes on, I am trying to improve that in myself as well as teach it to my children. I think that’s a good thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
