RSS

7 weeks. Time for the first crisis

13 Aug

So, we had a great weekend. Blah blah blah.

I’m officially seven weeks pregnant. You know what that means right? It’s time for me to freak out about something.
Monday night. Lots of cramping and pain. Then of course, blood.

Can I tell you how much I hate that? I spent Monday night being terrified and freaked out. We called the afterhours number and they told me to call the office in the morning and schedule an ultrasound.

This is exactly what happened with Jeffrey. Blood clot at 6 1/2 weeks, cue 17 ultrasounds and culminating in preemie child. I cannot adequately explain how petrified I am that this could happen again.  Jeffrey did well. He’s doing fabulous but the NICU is a scary scary place. I don’t want to go back there.

Anyway, I ended up getting an ultrasound yesterday. They found two cysts on my left ovary. They found a blood clot but it’s small. Not giant like it was with Jeffrey. They also found a heartbeat at around 125 bpm. (Which is good!!) Apparently because I have a heart shaped uterus, I may be prone to throwing clots. The whole heart shaped uterus thing just mucks everything up as far as I can tell. It’s also is a risk factor for preterm labor. Just one of many. Biggest risk factor of course being Jeffrey.

So they don’t want to see me back for two weeks. I have a doctor’s appointment next Friday and then another ultrasound scheduled for the 29th. They said the baby is measuring at 7 weeks and looks “perfect” so try and not worry.

I’m trying. It’s just that last time, I didn’t know what to be afraid of. Now I know exactly what to be frightened of and I can’t just wish those thoughts away.  Let’s face it, I’m not a glass half full kind of girl and this kind of thing stretches my optimism and positivity. That being said, I am fairly calm now. I did do this whole bleeding thing last time and Jeffrey is very healthy.
But just to be safe if you have any extra prayers, send one over to Future-Child. We can use whatever you want to throw at us.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2008 in Elena, pregnancy

 

5 responses to “7 weeks. Time for the first crisis

  1. Kellie

    August 13, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I won’t tell you not to be scared. As you said, you know what can happen. I WILL tell you if the doctor said you’re fine, believe it.

    I said a prayer. Just now. A prayer for a healthy, full-term baby with no visits to the NICU. And for shoes. Shoes are good.

    Okay, fine. I also said a prayer for cupcakes. Cupcakes make a person smile 🙂

     
  2. Debbie

    August 14, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Oh you poor thing! I’m glad that everything is OK with the baby!

    I wish I could tell you to stop worrying, but I know that won’t do any good 🙂 Just try to be happy in the moment, and the moment right now is that the baby is healthy and growing!

    Good Luck!

     
  3. Bonnie Malek

    August 15, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Dani, You may know what to be afraid of this time around but the doctors also know what to be prepared for before it happens. This time you can be pro-active instead of reactive which has to be comforting on some level. My love and positive thoughts are with you every day and also my prayers. Kiss Jeffrey for me. Bonnie

     
  4. Kelly

    August 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Oh Dani, I’m so sorry that happened. The good news is the baby is healthy!! I am definitely saying my prayers for you and the baby. Like Bonnie said, you are all prepared and now are pro-active..that is a good thing. You know the signs, symptoms…so all will be good..I just know it!!

     
  5. Charis Mihalik

    February 26, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    The process of blood clotting is triggered whenever flowing blood is exposed to certain substances. There are many different such substances, which are called thrombogenic because they promote formation of thrombus (another name for a clot). Many thrombogenic substances are located in the skin or in blood vessel walls. Normally safely separated from flowing blood, their contact with blood usually means the blood vessel wall is ruptured and bleeding. Examples of these thrombogenic substances are tissue factor, collagen, and von Willebrand factor.-

    My own online site
    <,http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/thrush-pictures/

     

Leave a Reply

 
