RSS

Cable, oh how I miss thee…

08 Jul

Seriously? What in the world made us decide to get rid of cable tv?

I realize it’s ridiculously expensive and that we barely ever watch it. Oh yeah and that whole trying to save money, not spend it frivolously and… oh yeah buying into a business!

BUT

I forgot that Stephen Colbert and The Daily Show are both cable.

More importantly. The Tour de France started Saturday! I love the Tour! I’m not sure I’ll make it without being able to see it.

I may whither away. I do follow several web sites that give me live coverage but it’s just not the same as watching it.

Damn you Time Warner. Why do you have to be so freaking expensive! If I don’t make it, I lay the blame square at your monstrous conglomerate feet.

****Small update: Realized that I can watch Stewart and Colbert online. Woot! And although I love my Tour, most of my websites now have streaming on their sites. I’ll still get the highlights and not pay the way too high prices!

Check out Get Rich Slowly. They posted about this last year. Very interesting read!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2008 in craziness, rant

 

3 responses to “Cable, oh how I miss thee…

  1. Kurt

    July 8, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Congrats on kicking cable! You know… there is a lot of HD content over the air already. Buy a $15 antenna and try it out.

     
  2. kelly

    July 9, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Good for you for ditching your cable! I wish I could…But seriously? My tv is on all the time..for background noise…I would be LOST without it!

     
  3. Kellie

    July 9, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    You’re my hero for ditching cable. I? Would die a slow, painful death. Or, be forced to DO something with my husband (husband. Haha. Still makes me giggle.) By the time our days are done, our “us” time is spent watching something.

    On the other hand, it WOULD save us $146 a month. That’s a lot of cake. Or shoes.

    Maybe try satellite? I know, I know. That’s not helping. Sorry.

     

Leave a Reply

 
