RSS

The Paper Garden – Part II

05 Jul

Friday night. Midnight Moonflowers. Isn’t that a lovely name for a class?
Anyway. I showed up for the crop. It runs from six pm until midnight.  I brought a ton of stuff to work on and basically, I was too nervous to actually work on any of it. The store was really busy since they had announced they were closing so it took until about seven thirty or so for me to corner Bridget.

I wasn’t really sure how to approach her (even though I’d been rehearsing it in my head ALL day!) so I just asked “how much of a lottery win would you need to stay open? and would you still want to consider it, because Brian and I would be interesting in investing to keep your store open.” I pretty much got open mouthed shock from her and she told me to give her a few minutes and then we could sit down and talk.
Oh and we talked. For the next few hours or so. She told me her philosophy for the business. Why they had opened, what her goals were, and that she thought that she had a pretty good thing here and was happy that she had accomplished many of her goals. She also said that she was pretty much in the mode of closing the store and would really need to give it some thought about whether they wanted to stay in business or not. Also, she wanted to look over her numbers and see what it would take to stay open. We continued to chat for awhile. I told her that Brian and I had some ideas concerning web based sales and some computer expertise that Brian could lend. That we would NOT be interested in taking over the store, that we both think that she runs it extremely well, and that we just thought that the community was losing out with her closing.

She told me she would think about it and get back to me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 5, 2008 in craziness, TPG

 

Leave a Reply

 
