RSS

Woot! Racing and Vacations!

30 May

Last night Brian and I ran in the Chase Corporate Challenge at RIT last night. It was my first ever race and I managed the 3.5 miles without any trouble. I was really happy with how I did. It took me 45 minutes but I think I actually ran quite a bit faster. There were over 11,000 people participating and everyone got all bunched up at the start so the first mile was r-e-a-l-l-y slow until it thinned out some. For instance it took us over 17 minutes to reach the first mile but I ran the last 2 and a half miles in about 26 minutes. I’ve been running on the treadmill at work for the past year or so and recently can my first ten minute mile (last Tuesday) so I was really proud of myself for doing the race and finishing well. I ran with Bri’s company Innovative Solutions since they paid for my entry while the U of R wasn’t covering any of the cost for their employees. I’m really glad I did it and hopefully I’ll be able to do one more fun race this summer before we get pregnant.

Next Bit of News: OBX!!

In less than 24 hours we are leaving for OBX. I absolutely cannot wait. We totally haven’t packed a thing yet. I’m taking a half day today and I’m going to go home and get everything together. Hopefully by the time Bri gets to the house we can just dump stuff into the van and go get some (much needed sleep). It’s a 12 hour drive down to Duck and then we have to pick up keys and settle in.  We’re staying at a gorgeous house near the beach, with two hottubs and without Jeffrey. While I miss him terribly… I am really going to enjoy spending the week with Brian and our friends. All I want to do is lay on the couch, catch up on blogs and read the enoromous pile of books that I am bringing with me. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2008 in fun and games, Woo Hoo!

 

2 responses to “Woot! Racing and Vacations!

  1. Kellie

    May 30, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Sweet, sweet vacation. Oh what I’d do for a week with just Jimmy and some friends. Have a wonderful time 🙂

     
  2. Rachel

    June 2, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I remember you guys going last year and you had a good time! I hope this year is just as fun!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
