RSS

Happy Mother’s Day

12 May

Mother’s Day has come and gone and now all is back to normal at Casa de Meehan. We had a very nice almost relaxing weekend if you find cleaning out the old office and tromping through the Lilac Festival relaxing. I still failed to do most of the things on my to do list such as buy new fish and get new shepherd’s crooks for the bird feeders. But it was all in all a wonderful day.

Brian bought me a new stereo for the van (Squee!) that my ipod will play through, thus allowing me to hear pod casts at all hours of the day. He installed it (very late) Saturday evening so that it would be all ready for me on Sunday morning. I squealed when I saw it. Happy indeed.
We crashed a reservations only brunch at the local restaurant. I think they felt bad for Brian when he mentioned that we didn’t realize we needed reservations and our child was yelling in ecstasy that they had pancakes. So they allowed us to eat and it was all very yummy and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

After brunch we went to the Lilac Festival and wandered around. We really didn’t look at many of the vendors, just mostly wandered through the flowers and finally found ourselves at the children’s carnival area. Jeffrey rode the slide five times before announcing “all done, ready go Ferris Wheel.” We waited way too long for the mini Ferris wheel and I was sure he was going to hate it. Caged in, without mom or dad. But my worrying was for naught. He LOVED it. He had a huge grin the entire ride and was bereft when we tried to get him out. We managed to drag him away so that we could ride on the choo-choo train (which was basically a tractor pulling four little cars). I rode with him on the train and he was so freakin cute. He kept saying “choo choo” really quietly and then looking at me and exclaiming “I ridin choo choo, mama”.

Post festivities, we took a nap at home and the whole night was capped off by getting to hear my little boy say that he loved me and happy mother’s day. He makes me so happy and proud to be a mom.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2008 in fun and games, Jeffrey

 

4 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Kellie

    May 12, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Sounds like an awesome day for an awesome Mommy 🙂

     
  2. Rachel

    May 13, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Great present Brian!! I am glad that you had a good Mother’s Day!

     
  3. Brian

    May 14, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Did she mention really late? Yeah, I waited for her to go to bed so I could surprise her. Doesn’t she pick that night to stay up until almost 1AM.

    4:30 is really early in the morning! Or late, depending on how you look at it.

     
  4. Kurt

    May 15, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Happy Mom’s Day, Dani! Sounds like it was top-notch. Congrats on the new stereo… I also listen to podcasts through mine… feels like you’re sort of accomplishing a little more when you listen to those rather than merely music, doesn’t it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
