RSS

Thank God for the weekend

04 Apr

So. It’s been a rough week.

Sunday I spoke with a very old friend and learned about a terrible tragedy that has happened to her and her family. I’m not going to talk about it here. I don’t feel it’s my place to air her business throughout the interweb. Suffice to say though, it shook me up as well as Brian. My heart just breaks for her and there’s no amount of words that can make it better. A little part of my mind has just been focused on her all week.

Monday we went to a talk on globalization and energy. Advice: Do not ever do this. Basically we can’t continue to support the world as it grows and continues to demand energy. The rich get richer and can afford energy. The poor get poorer and use poor energy sources because they can’t afford not to. At some point we’re going to break the system and all hell will break loose. Very depressing.

Tuesday my boss came in and told us about this web site that says the Mayans were right. Their calendar ended in 2012 and here are seven reasons why the world will end in 2012. Most of the things they mentioned were off the chart insane but still… things I did not need to think about. The poles switching places, the Earth deciding to rotate the opposite direction, giant volcanos, etc.

Today I found out that our friend Jen had her baby today/last night. At 32 weeks. I’m hoping and praying for them now. Hopefully everything will be fine. A 32 weeker is pretty advanced as far as the NICU goes, but still it’s a very frightening situation and one I wouldn’t wish on anyone.

The very silliest thing. My mom is on vacation with her sisters in Florida and I haven’t wanted to interrupt their vacation with bad news. So I’m waiting for her to come home to talk to. Normally we talk 3 or 4 times a week and I just really want to talk to my mom. She makes life feel better.

Tonight we’re going to dinner with friends and I’m hoping we can talk about happy things. My (very pregnant) cousin is being induced on Sunday night and hopefully next week will start with the joy of new life. Some weeks it’s hard to see the sunshine through the rain. But at least I know the rain will go away.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2008 in depression

 

6 responses to “Thank God for the weekend

  1. Kellie

    April 4, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I hope your friend will be okay?

    Jen? As in FL Jen? As in daughter who shares our children’s birthdays?

     
  2. Dani

    April 4, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Yeah FL Jen. I’ll give you more details when I get them.

     
  3. Kelly

    April 4, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I hope your friend is ok…and you and Brian too are as well.

    Take the weekend to relax….

     
  4. Jen Brugger and Victoria

    April 4, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    you know that if you ever need someone to talk to…please feel free to call. I always love hearing from you guys…and yes, i know that the phone goes both ways…sometimes I forget that.

    great, so I jus delivered Logan, you guys are going to start in #2 and the world is going to come to an end in 4 years…great. Party anyone?

     
  5. Happy Working Mom

    April 7, 2008 at 10:39 am

    You have a lot going on! I hope you were able to relax a little this weekend! I hope the little baby is OK!

     
  6. Rachel

    April 8, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I’m so sorry that it was such an awful week for you and Brian. I hope that things look up soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
