RSS

Only One Month

14 Mar

I drove past this church this morning on my way to work. Outside it had a sign asking “What if you only had one month? What would you do?” I didn’t slow down to see if it was a seminar or a talk or whatever. I’m pretty non-religious so I doubt I’ll show up just because their sign intrigued me. However it did make me think; about what I would do and what people would typically answer to that question. I’m assuming in my head that the church will say that we should all live our lives as if we only have a month because who really knows how long we have.

I think my initial feeling (and I believe most people) would say that the first thing they would do is quit their jobs and spend more time with their family. If I really had only a short time I would want as much time as possible with Jeffrey and Brian. I think I would write letters to them that they could open later in life to remind them how much I love them and care about them. I would also want to go to my mom’s. My parents are treasures and I would need time with them and all of my cousins that I grew up with. I think I would need to have a huge party to celebrate all of our friends and family that have been so important in my life.
I think the point of this exercise for me would be that I need to appreciate and love my family and friends as much as possible.

Other possibilities (that I found from various websites) were to travel and see all the places you haven’t and to forgive those people that you’ve been unable to forgive.
Personally, I couldn’t imagine traveling if I only had a month left. What in the world could I see that is more wonderous than my childs smile? As for forgiveness? I try very hard to forgive all of those who have wronged me and even more to forgive myself for the things that I have done and continue to do. I find it much easier to walk in someone else’s shoes and forgive them than to look inside at myself and let it all go.

The other point. To try and live like this every day? It’s a nice thought and one we should be reminded of from time to time. However, I’m not going to quit my job because I have to pay our bills. I do try and spend as much time as I can with my family and friends. I try to make it the main priority in my life. To take joy in Jeffrey growing up and keeping Brian and I in step with one another. And while I can’t visit my family all that often; I try to talk to them frequently and we see one another as often as possible.

So your homework: What would you do if you only had one month?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2008 in food for thought

 

3 responses to “Only One Month

  1. Rachel

    March 14, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I would for sure spend as much time as possible with my family. And, I would write my kids and my husband letters.

    An acquaintance recently passed away of cancer. She was my age with a 2 year old daughter. She spent her last months writing letters to her daughter to open at various times in her life.

     
  2. Dani

    March 14, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Isn’t it awful to think how fragile life is? I can’t imagine not being there to watch Jeffrey grow up.
    At least her daughter will have those letters as reminders of how much her mother loved her.

     
  3. Kellie

    March 15, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Cry. I’d cry and be depressed; full of regret that I took each day for granted.

    And then? I’d be angry.

    And then, I’d be glued to my kid. I’d touch her hair, her eye lashes, smell that wonderful smell fhtat is Morgan. I’d hold her as long as she’d let me and I’d get over my nap Nazi schedule. I’d write letters to her for the milestones in her life.

    And then? I’d cry.

    Like I am now. I hate thinking of this stuff.

     

Leave a Reply

 
