RSS

Branching out and Growing up.

21 Feb

So… the weekend? So great!!

February 6th was Brian’s 30th birthday. It passed with relatively little fanfare. I gave him some cards, we agreed that we need to curb our spending a bit and to lay off on the spending. However, I didn’t want it to pass completely unnoticed. So I came up with a plan.

Brian grew up in the Adirondack’s. A few minutes from Vermont. A few miles from Killington. He grew up skiing and snowshoeing and sledding. Spending lots of time outside in the snow is normal for him. This is not normal for me.

Which is not to say I never spent time outside in the snow growing up. Only that we limited it to creating snowmen and sledding down the hill. I have never wanted to ski. I have had back problems since I was eleven years old. One thing I am terrified of? Hurting myself on ice or snow. I think it’s probably a natural fear.

In the seven plus years we have been together he’s gone skiing… maybe twice? three times possibly. So I decided to crawl out of my comfort zone and do something really fun for Brian for his birthday. I worked it out with a friend (Angela) who was on vacation for the week and has spent a good bit of time skiing in Vermont. On Saturday we dropped the baby with Liane, drove out to Albany and stayed the night with Angela’s family. Sunday morning we woke up early and drove to Ludlow VT. Home of Okemo Mountain Resort. While I took a beginner ski class; Brian, Angela and her husband Mark went off and skied the mountain.

I took a two hour class and guess what? I didn’t hate it. I actually had fun. I learned how to snowplow and how to turn. I actually signed up for a second class but ended up missing it so that we could all have lunch together. I got on the lift with everyone and did one run down the mountain. About 3/4 of it was fun, the other quarter was really scary. BUT I did it. I was very proud of myself that I made it down the mountain and still wanted to stay on ski’s.  Of course to give you some perspective; the hill I skiied was called Hot Dog Hill. The trails the rest of them did were named things like Dreamweaver and Defiance.

We stayed in a hotel Sunday night and drove home Monday. Brian said the weekend was a great, but that the best gift was that I want to try skiing again. This season even! He wants to start teaching Jeffrey to ski next year so I’d better get good at it so that I’m not left at home!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2008 in General

 

4 responses to “Branching out and Growing up.

  1. Rachel

    February 21, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    How fun!!! Great present!! Very thoughtful. It sounds like Brian appreciated it!

     
  2. Jen Brugger

    February 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    I am very proud that you were able to try skiing again. I understand how scary it can be…you are way braver than I am. I will only do cross country downhill is too fast for me.

    I can’t wait to hear about Jeffrey’s adventures on the slopes!

     
  3. Kellie

    February 21, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    I LOVE to ski!! I first got on skis 15 years ago. Sadly, I haven’t been on them in almost 10 years. Every year I say “THIS year” and then I don’t do it. I really want to do it next winter and I want to get Morgan on skis. Given I’ve probably forgotten how to ski, you and I can do Hot Dog Hill with the kiddies 🙂

     
  4. Bonnie Malek

    February 22, 2008 at 11:46 am

    You have an open invitation to visit us in Colorado and have your choice of where to go to ski. The snow this year is said to be absolutely awesome. Thankfully it’s all in the higher elevations (above 6000 feet) and not where we are (5479 feet). Believe it or not 10 miles up the road they measure it in feet! Roger and I are talking about getting snowshoes. That’s about as daring as I will get. No downhill for me!

     

Leave a Reply

 
