RSS

Thanksgiving

27 Nov

Now that I’ve vented about my leaky house. (Don’t worry there will be pictures coming.) Let’s get back to Thanksgiving.

We drove down to my mom’s on Wednesday night. Arrived at about 11:30pm, my parents and my cousin Chris and her husband were all waiting up for us. The baby ran around for a few minutes before we put him down to bed. We stayed up until about 1:30 talking to Chris and Bill. We don’t get to see them very often so it was nice to reconnect.

Thanksgiving itself was wonderful. My grandparents, my Aunt Ann, and our friends Bob and Laurie came to visit and share in the festivities. We ate a lot, we talked a lot, everyone fussed over Jeffrey. He loved it. It was a really nice day. It reminds me why I miss my family so much.

Friday, my cousin Miriam came to visit. She is newly married and newly pregnant. I am SO excited for her!!! It’s her second marriage and first pregnancy.  Then Brian and I went out to Circuit City and IKEA to pick up some things. We bought some stuff to fix my Dad’s computer and Brian installed and set it up for him. We also stopped at Danny’s Pizza and ate Italian hoagies. I miss them so much. They’re almost good enough to move back for. I make sure we stop and eat one everytime we visit.

Saturday we met my Aunt Marilyn and Aunt Helen for lunch out at the Mall. My Mom and Aunt Kay came with us. We had to pick up a cake for dad’s birthday and it was a good excuse to eat out with everyone. They’re all doing well and we had a good time.

Sunday was Dad’s 60th birthday party. It was a low key affair. Just a few friends, some wine and yummy pulled pork. We stayed until about 5:30 when we had to get on the road home. I was glad we stayed for the party. I grew up with most of Dad’s friends and I don’t get to visit with them very often. Plus I love to show off my kid!

Believe it or not, there was a lot of relaxing that happened during all this. I took a few naps, Grandma loved playing with her grandson and that’s really important. I want my parents to be a big part of Jeffrey’s life. They’re awesome people. I just wish we weren’t quite so far away.

Hope everyone else had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2007 in Family, Friendly Blogs, Update

 

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. Jen Brugger and Victoria

    November 28, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I am glad that you guys had such a wonderful time with your family. and Happy belated 60th (hope I make it that far) to your father. Oh the things he must have seen and will see in the next 40 years. Congratulations as well to your cousin Miriam on both her second marriage and her first pregnancy may she have one to remember with all the joys and smiles to go with it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
