RSS

Happy Birthday

23 Oct

Did I mention that Saturday was my birthday? Also my Mom’s birthday? See when they say that you really should celebrate your mother on your birthday because she’s the one who did all the work. I already do that. 🙂

Can I also mention that I am married to a stupendous man? He’s sweet, romantic and loves me a lot.

All week long, I had been thinking that my co-worker, Angela was taking a half day on Friday. Since she’s my gym buddy, I was going to meet Brian for lunch and then come back to work. When Bri picked me up for lunch he informed me that I was taking a half day and that we were driving to Toronto for my birthday. He already had all of Jeffrey’s things packed and our sitter was picking him up from daycare. All we needed to do was stop by the house and let me get some stuff together.

After sitting for awhile in traffic, we arrived in Toronto to the new home of Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast (TDBAB). They are the premier B&B in all of Canada. This was our 4th visit with them and the proprietors Jim and Roger, have become much more than hosts to us. They had moved since we had last been to visit to a new condo in downtown Toronto. I have to say the new place is beautiful. The view out of the condo was spectacular. I’d show pictures but we left the camera with Liane and the baby (who, btw took no pictures).

Friday evening, we drank lemon-drop martini’s (a specialty of TDBAB – one I was not able to partake in on our last visit since I was carrying Jeffrey at the time). They were very yummy. After about 3 (or possibly 4) we decided we should all go to dinner. So off we went, the four of us to a lovely restaurant downtown. I don’t remember a whole lot about the restaurant except to say that the decor was lovely and the wine flowed freely and the food was scrumptious.

Saturday, after sleeping in for a bit, our hosts provided a delicious breakfast. Jim is an amazing cook. Every breakfast we eat there is unlike anything I would make for myself. They are all visually gorgeous as well as delicious. Brian presented me with a gift for my birthday -A crop in style tote for scrapbooking. yay!! We then spent the afternoon wandering down Queen Street, popping into little shops and getting a fabulous massage at the Totto Spa. After walking over sixty blocks we decided to be simple and just get a pizza for dinner. We brought it back to the condo where Jim and Roger surprised me with a cake. It had sparklers on it and was very yummy. We had more wine and relaxed into the evening.

On Sunday, we had to head home to our fabulous child. While we were gone, Jeffrey learned to say rainbow and sweetcheeks. We picked him up from Aunt Liane and got ready for the week ahead.

I hope everyone had as wonderful a weekend as I had. I’m lucky to have the boys that I’ve got.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2007 in Family, fun and games, General

 

4 responses to “Happy Birthday

  1. happyworkingmom

    October 24, 2007 at 10:59 am

    What an awesome birthday you had! Happy belated birthday by the way! What a neat trip and a wonderful present!

     
  2. Rachel

    October 24, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Sounds like a great weekend!! Happy Belated Birthday!!

     
  3. Kellie

    October 24, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday!! Sounds like a great weekend and I’m SO jealous 🙂

     
  4. bah

    October 24, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    sweetcheeks? I used to call one of the barmaids at Hot Shots that 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
