RSS

Rant

18 Oct

Children destroying things.

Recently I have run across a slew of people that feel parents should not buy new or “nice” things (such as couches, furniture etc.) until their children have grown up and moved out or on. I’m sorry? I have a child so I can’t own anything nice for 18+ years. Yeah, I don’t think so. I completely understand that children can and will occasionally harm things, spill things and break things. This however should NOT be the norm. Whatever happened to teaching your kids to respect other peoples property and to have consequences when they don’t?

I realize that my child is only 21 months old and that “I just don’t understand yet.” But, seriously people, Bullcrap. My mother taught me to respect her things. We had nice things, even breakable knick-knacky things in our house. I did not destroy things. Our house was by no means a museum and I can’t say that nothing was ever harmed but I learned that things had value and to appreciate their worth. I am sick and tired of people telling me that I had better babyproof MY house better because their child may break my things.

I’m sorry but my kid has better manners than that already. I supervise and don’t allow him to destroy things and there are and will be consequences when he does. In fact, if I’m not around? Feel free to discipline him. He needs to respect and listen to adults. Even if their not me.

……okay, now I feel a little better. Several conversations with a co-worker and Happy Working Mom‘s blog got me riled up today. We can talk about happier things later. 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2007 in General, rant

 

5 responses to “Rant

  1. happyworkingmom

    October 18, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Oh you know I’m with you on this one! I’ve heard stories of kids hanging on the kitchen cabinets and stuff like that. Not in my house!

    Now of course, our couch is a mess from spit-up, leaky sippy cups and overflowing diapers (I swear I’ve cleaned it, I just know that those things have happened so I think it’s gross). So I probably won’t get a new one of those for a while, but as for the rest of the stuff? No way! I want to be comfortable knowing my kids will respect other people’s things when they go to their house, and how can I do that if I let them trash mine?

     
  2. Bonnie Malek

    October 18, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I had a friend once say she couldn’t come to visit with her kids until I put up all my knick knacky things. Excuse me? Guess what honey? I guess you’ll never visit because that’s not going to happen. She never did. I never “put things up” for my own child – why would I do it for someone else’s. That’s the problem with parents today – you can’t discipline a child because he’ll grow up to be an ax murderer. No way. It’s never to early to start teaching them to respect things both in their own home and every where they go. Day care, stores, other homes, etc. Good job Dani – you and Brian are such good parents – I’m proud of you!

     
  3. Rachel

    October 18, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I completely agree! I don’t let my kids climb on the furniture and things like that at my house. Therefore, they do not do those things at other people’s homes.

    My kids aren’t perfect, they do mess with some things. They are curious and I get that. But, there is a difference in normal child curiosity and downright lack of manners!

     
  4. Dani

    October 19, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Yeah, I mean I don’t expect people’s kids to be perfect. I certainly don’t expect it from my own. But it seems like so many people have no expectations of their kids and just let them run wild.
    My house is full of cat hair and spills and things that break. It’s just that I am trying to teach Jeffrey that things have value and that we work hard for them. The first step for me is don’t jump on things or harm them just because you can.

     
  5. Kellie

    October 19, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Um, yeah….NO. Morgan will learn to be respectful of things. She’s made attempts to play with my breakables and I tell her no and we move on. If she continues touching? A firmer NO and maybe a light slap on the hands. Yes, I know….shame on me for “slapping” when I teach her hitting isn’t right.

    We had nice things growing up, too. I have somewhat nice things now. Morgan knows: no touching the big screen, the computer and anything else that costs a crapton to repair/replace.

    I’m with you on this one all the way.

     

Leave a Reply

 
