RSS

Time for a …Not so Brief -Update

03 Oct

Jeffrey Update: 

Okay. We seem to have (maybe, possibly, Gawd please!) reached the end of Jeffrey’s poop issues.

Last Friday, I stayed home with him and we went off to visit Dr. Socha (a new doctor in our practice and bonus, friend of a friend). He thinks that a food allergy is unlikely due to the fact that we haven’t changed anything about his diet and he hasn’t had any rashes or earlier signals that it could be an issue. That being said, he’s not ruling it out. He says there are a few viruses that just hang around and can cause GI stress for a long while. Coupled with the fact that half of Margaret’s House staff is out sick, this is the scenario he finds most likely.

To be safe, he sent us for some blood-work -Awful. horrible. thing to do. I had to hold Jeffrey while the tech stuck him. I know it’s for a good reason, but it is still just awful to have to witness. He did great. A minute after the stick he was walking around waving at people and ripping the tape off of his arm. He’s a tough little guy. Dr. Socha also gave us cups to bring in stool samples for them to test for blood and bacteria.

The blood-work results came in on Friday evening. Everything looked fine. His white count wasn’t high and his eosinophil count (should be high if he’s having some type of allergic reaction) was normal. We took in three stool samples over the weekend and they’ll have the results from those later this week. Jeffrey has a followup appointment this Friday.

The big thing though. NOT one diarrhea over the weekend. It’s like we reacted two seconds before it went away. I’m still keeping a close eye on him but it seems like we’ve weathered the storm.

Everything Else Update:

My mood seems to finally be improving. I did pretty well while Brian was away in Seattle. Jeffrey and I went to swim class on Saturday, had breakfast with Aunt Liane and Scott and went to the Hilton Apple Fest with Aunt Kimberly. We had a very fun day together and I really enjoyed myself. On Sunday we went over to Marc and Heidi’s and babysat their kids (Connor, Mackenzie and Katlyn) while they went to the Bills game for their anniversary.  I was a little afraid the kids were going to kill me, but it turned out to be a pretty enjoyable day. However, I have to say, it is exhausting chasing and playing with toddlers all day! Big kudos to everyone out there that does this everyday!

Physically, I feel like crap. The fibromyalgia has just been kicking my butt for the past few months. Some days at the gym, I feel great and I can run for miles. Others, I’m lucky to be able to walk on the treadmill for a half hour. I find it to be a great frustration. It’s annoying for my physical abilities to change so drastically from day to day. I’ll deal with it, but this time of year always seems to be especially draining.

That’s about it. It’s been pretty boring at the old homestead. We still haven’t gotten rid of our cats. In fact, we haven’t really tried -except for mentioning to a few people that we’d like them to go away. It’s hard to be motivated to get rid of animals that although they can be destructive and Jeffrey’s possibly allergic to, I still love very much. Not more than Jeffrey, but we’re not even sure that he’s actually allergic to them. Whatever. We’ll figure it out eventually.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2007 in General, Jeffrey, Update

 

4 responses to “Time for a …Not so Brief -Update

  1. Kellie

    October 3, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Glad Jeffrey is doing better 🙂

    Wish I could make YOU feel better 😦

    As for the cats…..can’t help you there. I’m allergic and Jimmy…well, he’s not a cat person.

     
  2. happyworkingmom

    October 4, 2007 at 9:38 am

    That’s awesome that he’s doing better, and very typical that it happened right after all the test and appointments! Oh well, the important thing is that he appears to be feeling better!

    I’m glad that your mood is improving…those down days can really, really suck.

     
  3. Kurt

    October 5, 2007 at 8:52 am

    How was the apple festival? I haven’t done any apple-related activities yet.

    Good luck with the cat relocation program. I totally know how you can have an important project/event looming over you and attack it only half-assed.

    Glad to hear J is feeling better. Can’t wait to see him again! Oh, yeah, and you guys too 🙂

     
  4. Rachel

    October 8, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Glad to hear that Jeffrey is doing better!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
