RSS

Will this never end?

27 Sep

Aurghh!

That’s how tonight feels. I am sorry that this blog has become a dumping ground for my bad days but come on, I need a break.

Tonight I am on call for work. Tomorrow at 5am, Brian is leaving for Seattle. Today, at daycare, Jeffrey had diarrhea three times and cannot come in tomorrow. I am so out of vacation it is ridiculous, not to mention the giant pile of crap waiting for me on my desk at work.

We have an appointment with the pediatrician for tomorrow afternoon so that maybe I could go to work and just leave early to take him to the doc. On the phone tonight, they said that they doubt it is a virus since it has lasted so long. They think it could be some type of food allergy. They can possibly give us a letter that will allow him back into daycare despite his propensity to poop.

This plan would have worked well except that we cannot find anyone to watch him tomorrow so I will have to stay home. With my perfectly healthy child. While my work sits on my desk at the lab.

This is where I wish I worked somewhere where work could be pushed off until another day or slid to the side. Unfortunately I work in a lab. We depend on the viability of cells drawn in blood tubes. That means you have mere days or hours to do your work. It doesn’t wait forever. That doesn’t mean that the things I’m working on won’t stay, but darn it, I’m still behind from taking last Thursday off.

Also, this completely throws any plans concerning Christmas and Thanksgiving visits out the window because I may not have enough time accrued to take off. Work will let me go time without pay for a sick kid, but not because we want to go out of town to visit.

All in all, this is no one’s fault and everything will work out.

I still reserve the right to be annoyed!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2007 in craziness, eww!, Jeffrey

 

4 responses to “Will this never end?

  1. Kellie

    September 28, 2007 at 8:13 am

    I’d be annoyed, too. Sorry it’s been so difficult. Wish I was closer to help. Hope everything with Jeffrey is minor and simple to resolve.

     
  2. Bonnie Malek

    October 1, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I am so sorry to hear what you have been going through with Jeffrey. Sorry also that family can’t be closer to help out. I would love to be there for you when you need someone. Hang in there. We love you.

     
  3. Joanne Macek

    October 2, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Okay…you used the “A” word, so you KNOW it will get a reply from me!! What I need you to do is examine the poop…I know…EWWWWW. Any flecks of blood? Is it mucous-ey? Or is it just liquid-ey. Never new that there were so many poop nuances did you?

    If the doctor really wants to check for blood, you can bring in a dirty diaper (I know..double EWWWW) and they can analyze it for blood. Also, never underestimate the power of saving the diaper and bringing it to the doctor so she can see exactly what you’re talking about.

    Don’t let anyone tell you that gastrointestinal reactions are not allergies…they CAN be. It’s just much more difficult to figure out because traditional blood testing (RAST) measures for IgE antibodies. It’s the IgG antibodies that tend to produce GI reactions and there aren’t any terribly reliable ways to test for that. So, you’re in trial and error land. You also know that if you need to start eliminating things you can always knock on my door. I can make ANYTHING! šŸ™‚ (Except those *#*$&#*&$ little goldfish crackers…I haven’t figured out a way to duplicate those litle guys!)

    I can also give you the name of Jeremy’s allergist…she’s pretty good. Good luck!

    Joanne

     
  4. Jen Brugger and Victoria

    October 2, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    I wish I lived closer….or was traveling home to help you. I hope everything comes out smoothly and you are able to attck the pile of stuff waiting for you.

    If you guys need a break or help over the thanksgiving week…let me know I’ll be in town and I am sooooo willing to help. Want a night out?

    Miss you guys! feel free to call and complain any time. I am always here to listen!

     

Leave a Reply

 
