RSS

Stats

05 Sep

I’m a little too addicted to my blog stats. WordPress just added new charts so that you can see how many people check out your blog by day, week or by month. It’s pretty cool but mostly it just drives me crazy.

For instance, just what exactly was I talking about in February that had everyone checking me out? Apparently I was really fascinating for a month because my stats shot up. Then again, apparently I wasn’t fascinating enough because my stats dropped significantly after that month. I had 1400 people look at the blog during February and only 600 during August. Interesting.

But wait, I am not complaining!! I appreciate everyone who checks out our site and I would still be writing if the stats were at two. I really enjoy keeping this blog. I may not be the most prolific or fabulous writer but I feel like it gives me a place to catalogue my life and share stuff that I wouldn’t be able to normally. It’s fun to just throw out my thoughts and voice my frustrations and joys.

I think a blog is definitely like a diary, only far more useful. I used to keep a diary. I NEVER wrote in it unless I was upset. This means if you looked at it now, you would think that I should have justed ended it because life was apparently really awful. I would occasionally try to add these stupid entries that noted things like “the last few months have been quite busy and fun. ” Then back to despair. I find them quite humorous now, when I go back and look at them. Obviously a blog is different because you can choose to make it public. You can assume that I edit myself a little more when I know that people will be reading these words. However to be honest, I don’t edit too much. I’m all about honesty. Where would you be without it.

So to conclude. Statistics are evil and addictive. I cannot keep a diary because I’m depressing. I don’t lie to people. That’s pretty much it.

Hope everyone had a great Labor Day.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2007 in fun and games, General

 

3 responses to “Stats

  1. Kellie

    September 6, 2007 at 10:31 am

    I’m HIGHLY addicted to my stats. It’s sad, really.

     
  2. Dating Dummy

    September 9, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Plus it’s nice that people actually write back about what you’ve written! I think that was the hook for me. Having an audience that interacts with you and actually cares about you makes a nice difference.

     
  3. Dani

    September 10, 2007 at 9:31 am

    I know, I stalk my comments section to see what people think. It’s cool to hear other people’s opinions.

     

Leave a Reply

 
