RSS

Love is… Anniversary Edition

29 Aug

Yesterday Brian and I belatedly celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary. I cannot believe that it’s been over seven years since I first set eyes on my Brian.

In the past six years I have been gifted with an amazing man. Brian is one of the most heartfelt human beings that I have ever known. He has a deep soul and a compassion that isn’t found in most others. He holds fervent beliefs but he’s almost always willing to take a turn and hear my point of view. I can truly say that our love has deepened and grown over the past years and will continue to grow as we journey through life.

I think that Jeffrey coming early taught Brian that I am stronger that he once thought. I’ve noticed since then, that he’s not as quick to leap to my rescue. I appreciate that. I was raised as a strong woman and for the most part, I can take care of myself. But I also know that he’s always there to lean on. I think we’ve discovered that we make a good team, we balance one another out. He’s late, I’m early. I’m timid, he’s adventurous. We’ve helped pull each other away from our extremes and our safe places and into new and exciting experiences.

I look back to before we met. I was going to be single for awhile. (He was the first man I met in Rochester). I was going to go to grad school and get my PhD. (He supported me when I realized how much I hated it). I was not really interested in having children. (Can you say Jeffrey)? Because of his support and love instead of dwelling on dreams that were lost, I made new dreams and goals.

In short, I love my husband. With every moment that passes I realize that my love and his continues to grow and take new paths. He shares in my joys and sorrow and supports me no matter what.

When my mother met him for the first time, she told me “Don’t let him go.” The family loved him from the first time they met.

Don’t worry everyone, I’m holding on tight.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2007 in Brian, love

 

5 responses to “Love is… Anniversary Edition

  1. Rose Ghost

    August 29, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Congratulations. For my sake, I hope you have many more happy years together (i’m going trough a very difficult time romantically at the moment). Hope you had a great day.

     
  2. Kellie

    August 30, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Happy Anniversary!! This post brought some tears to my eyes. That kind of love and bond? Is like none other. Jimmy and I share the same thing.

     
  3. Jen Brugger and Victoria

    August 31, 2007 at 10:31 am

    You have the type of love that little girls dream of. I am happy for both of you, you both found your soul mate in each other. Jeffrey is blessed to have such wonderful parents.

    Happy Anniversary to the both of you!

     
  4. Dani

    August 31, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Thanks everybody. We’re very lucky to have found each other and to be willing to work to keep it going.

     
  5. Brian Meehan

    September 2, 2007 at 3:03 am

    I heart you, babe. Happy Anniversary. You know, I actually tried to find a 64th Anniversary card at the store so that I could put the radical sign over it and have the “Happy (Square Root of 64)th Anniversary card. Yeah, well they don’t sell 64th anniversary cards. Friggin’ Hallmark. 60/12 would have been run, but the 60th card was dumb. I guess when you’re 60, you don’t have many cards to choose from. Even 30/(√25) would have been geekily-apropos, but the 30th card was not very exciting either.

    I’m glad you liked your gifts anyway.

    28 servings?

     

Leave a Reply

 
