RSS

Feeling Hot Hot Hot!

02 Aug

Okay Phone mom is running on empty.

Tuesday morning Margaret’s House called and says that Jeffrey has a fever. That means please take him home and 24hrs of fever free before he can return. I figure he’s getting his 4th molar in and he’ll be back the following day. I left work (very busy day) and took him home. Gave him some Motirin, he acted fine most of the day besides wanting a little extra cuddle action. Went through the usual 65 phone calls before finding someone to watch him the next day. Everything is cool.

Except Jeffrey of course. At 4am, he wakes up screaming bloody murder and has a temp of 102. We give him some Children’s Tylenol and notice that he’s shaking a little bit. So we throw him in a cool bath and get his temp down and settled. He comes back to bed with us and I decide that I’m staying home with him. This is more than teeth and I’m not giving him to someone when he’s not feeling well.

Wednesday, he was cuddle child all day. Just wanted to read books and drive trucks over Mama’s head. I wanted to throw the books out the window by the end of the day but otherwise we had a good day. His temp stayed down all day until of course I was getting ready to go to my volleyball game. I had planned on meeting Brian at the beach with Jeffrey and trading off. I picked him out, noticed that he felt really warm and took him temp. 102. Alright 102 is where I start freaking out and imagining his little brain cooking. I met Brian at the pediatrician instead of the beach.

It’s a virus. Of course. Nothing we can do. Just give him Tylenol and Motrin and don’t worry about the temp unless it’s 105 or 106. My head would pop off if the thermometer said 106. Anyway, we arranged for Marc and Heidi to watch him today as I have officially (again) run out of all vacation and sick time. Besides, Heidi is a pediatric nurse so I trust her with him when he’s not feeling up to snuff. I only feel badly about possibly infecting their kidlings. This morning Brian said his temp was 103 but it’s gone down since he’s been at Heidi’s. God only knows where he’ll go tomorrow. I just hope he feels better soon. It’s so awful when they’re not feeling good. Especially now, he wants nothing more than to go outside and take a walk in the stroller but I’m afraid I’ll bake him if we go out. Poor bubba.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2007 in General, Jeffrey, parenting

 

2 responses to “Feeling Hot Hot Hot!

  1. Kellie

    August 3, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Ohhhh…..poor Baby J 😦 I hope he’s feeling better!!

     
  2. Jen Brugger and Victoria

    August 4, 2007 at 11:10 am

    I understand about the freaking out part. Beanie got her first fever (shot related) and I called the pediatrician, only to find out that they won’t take her unless the fever is around 104. if we got that hot…we’d be dead.

    It’s amazing at how strong kids are. They get sick, they play, we get sick, we sleep. I hope Jeffrey is starting to feel better and can go on his much loved walks soon.

    Have a great rest of the weekend!

     

Leave a Reply

 
