RSS

Recap

24 Jul

Well… I ended up buying the Harry Potter book on Saturday. Brian was working the 6-11 shift at the Ambulance and I figured I’d have some time to read. I finished it last night. I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed it and I was happy with the way everything played out.

We went out to friends on Friday night. Ended up drinking four bottles of wine and sleeping in their spare room. We had a blast!! Thankfully they had a pack-n-play and Jeffrey slept like a log. He went down at 8pm and didn’t wake until 9am Saturday morning. He was absolutely angelic Friday and Saturday. You just could not have asked for more perfection. He was happy and playful and a shining example of why you want to have children. We are so lucky.

On Sunday we had a quiet day. We took Jeffrey up to the beach and checked out the DUCK! and BOATS! that were floating along the pier. We were going to take him into the water but the two feet of sludge stopped us from dipping a toe. At the gazebo therewas the “Barbershop at the Beach” festival and we stopped to listen to several barbershop quartets and acapella groups. It was really nice and Jeffrey seemed to enjoy the music.

Before going home, we played at the playground for a bit and I renewed my hatred for all small children not belonging to me. I was very annoyed at the children and PARENTS that just allowed their (7-8yr olds) to run over my toddler. We were good, we played only on the small playground designed for smaller children with 3-4 ft slides and large enough aisles so that parents (like me) could accompany their little one through the course. Several larger kids were running and pushing Jeffrey out of the way. I gave them the death look and tried to comfort my sobbing baby. argh..

Anyway, that was the weekend. Hope everyone had fun and enjoyed the weather. Perfection like that does not happen much in Rochester.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2007 in Books, Friendly Blogs, Jeffrey

 

4 responses to “Recap

  1. Kellie

    July 24, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Man…..I am KICKING myself for being a craptastic parent and Morgan not sleeping in strange places. Horray for Jeffrey being such an awesome little man!!

    Sounds like a great weekend–minus the sludge at the lake 🙂

     
  2. Jeff

    July 24, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    I was there on Sunday too. Watched a little vball 1:30-2:30, walked around a bit. But I stayed away from the nails-on-chalkboard that is barbershop and the playground.

     
  3. Jen Brugger

    July 24, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    I miss the beach. the ocean sucks. too many sea-things in it.
    Yeah Jeffrey for being able to sleep anywhere. What an great man he’s growing up to be!
    Glad you got the chance to read Harry. I managed to read it over the weekend as well. Loved it and very amazed at the ending, I actually cried, then again, it was 2am!

    good for you for not hurting the older kids, I guess I should follow your example, I am not so nice and I say something to the parents.

     
  4. happyworkingmom

    July 25, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    4 bottles of wine? Sounds like a great time!!!

    I despise it when older kids run over my little ones at the playground. I don’t hold back – I yell at them if they run into my kids. The same goes for that play area at the mall!

     

Leave a Reply

 
