RSS

On the Shelf Volume ?

20 Jul

WOW. It has been a long long time since I did a book post but I thought that in honor of the new Harry Potter book it would be a good time. And no, I’m not going to be waiting at a store tonight to buy the book, nor have I pre-ordered it so that it will be waiting for me at home. I’m going to order it on Amazon soon or maybe pick it up next week sometime. Let’s face it I don’t have mountains of time to read anymore and I can’t just ignore Jeffrey for a few days over a good book.

Anyway. Things that I have been reading…

When Darkness Falls by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory.  This is the third book in the Obsidian Trilogy. I love ML. She is awesome, writes phenomenal characters that I come to care about and is prolific enough that I never forget about her. I enjoyed this series. Maybe not as much as her Valdemar books but by the end I was sucked in and I’m hoping she does more books set in this world.

Moving on to The Husband and Mr. Murder by Dean Koontz. I finished Mr. Murder last week and was happy with it. It’s tense, suspensful and has some surprising twists. However what I really enjoyed was the afterword from DK. It was funny and informative. It made me think he might be a fun guy to hang with. The Husband, I just began last evening and it has me pulled sufficiently into its hold. I am eager to discover what happens next. I like DK’s books because they’re really quick reads, they keep my attention and quite often I find myself thinking about the underlying theme in the days that follow.

Last but not least.  Belgarath the Sorcerer by David and Leigh Eddings. I found my first David Eddings book as a tween on the bookshelf of my Aunt Kay. She let me have the book and I quickly devoured all that she had. I then moved on to my Aunt Marilyn who had the more recently published books, she let me have them when she was done reading. I still have those very dog eared books that I reread time and time again. I adored them and wished so fervently that this could be my world. The idea that great undertakings could be happening right beneath my nose fascinated me. This is one of the later books published after the five book series The Belgariad and The Mallorean (also five books). I recommend them to anyone who enjoys fantasy. They are spectacular.

With that I leave you. Have a great weekend everyone and let me know what you’re reading.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 20, 2007 in Books, linky lurve

 

One response to “On the Shelf Volume ?

  1. Jen Brugger

    July 22, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Yeah, I was one of theose midnight release people. It was also babyfree time. As for books, The Ite Runner and A thousand spledid suns, Pretty Bones, She’s come undone and of course Harry Potter. There is also all of the John Grisham and Nora Roberts. Pretty Much anything I can get my hands on!

    I am going to try some of the books that you ave read and expand what I’ve been reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
