RSS

Downtime

06 Jun

Okay so it rained. Torrential downpour all through day one of vacation. The waves from the ocean were huge and awesome and pretty cool to look at and the storm woke Brian and I in the middle of the night. Luckily we love storms so I had fun listening to it.  The only disconcerting thing was the the house was swaying. just a little. from the wind. FREAKY.  When we woke up in the morning everyone had noticed it.

We adapted to the rain by going shopping 🙂 at outlets. yummy.  I bought clothes from Gap and an awesome new purse that I got for 75% off from Wilsons Leather. I am turning so girly.

Monday, the weather turned beautiful and we lounged. I took naps and read a book. Kick ass.

Tuesday we felt that we should shop some more. We went to the Mystic Jewel.  I love this store. We went there the last time that we were on vacation. I have this thing where I won’t buy jewelery for myself at anytime other than on vacation. I can never justify it to myself. But on vacation, well then it’s just a pleasant splurge. So I bought a lot of pretty things to decorate myself. Three gorgeous pendants, two chains and two pair of earrings. I feel pretty today.

Today I am vegging completely. I plan on catching up on blogs and maybe going for a run if the compulsion takes me.

In baby news, Jeffrey has been having a wonderful time with my parents. He is playing with chickens, baby emus, pot belly pigs and dogs. And that is just at my cousins house across the street. He is apparently exhausted because he has been sleeping until 9 or 9:30 for my mom. WTF!! He has never slept that late for us!! They must be part baby whisperer or something. He sounds like he is having a wonderful time and getting appropriately spoiled.

Also, we have finally made the decision that Jeffrey  is going to spend two weeks with grandma and grandpap instead of just one. We had intended on picking up Jeffrey on our way home on Saturday and then running into a very busy week. My parents were coming up on the following Friday to watch Jeffrey so that we could go to friends Kevin and Kimberly’s wedding (Friday night) and to Brian’s sister Dee’s wedding the following day.  Now they are going to keep him all next week and drive up Thursday so that we get to see him a little before taking off for the weddings. K&K wedding is about an hour away so we were getting a hotel for the night and taking off there in the morning for Dee’s wedding.
It was a difficult decision for us to make, but after we looked at the week. Crazy and realized that we would basically be picking up Jeffrey, running to an appointment, and putting him to bed. We figured that we weren’t going to actually be able to spend any worthwhile time with him so he may as well spend more time with his grandparents. I miss him though. We’re still going to use my parents house as a way point on Saturday night so at least we’ll get to see him for the night. However, I’m not sure how easy it will be to leave again on Sunday morning.

I feel like a crappy mom for foisting him off on other people for not only one but two weeks. But, my parents are overjoyed to have him and my dad will be on vacation the second week and get to spend more time with Jeffrey. I feel that I should be missing him more while on vacation. I am reacting to every baby and toddler that I see but it’s really nice to sleep late and be without a schedule. I need to get over it and realize that he’s with people that adore him and will take every care with him. I should just let go of the guilt and enjoy my time off.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2007 in fun and games, Jeffrey, parenting

 

2 responses to “Downtime

  1. Kellie

    June 6, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Woot! for buying yourself some “frosting”….every girl loves bling 🙂

    Glad you’re having a great time….I’m still insanely jelaous and even more so now that Baby J will be away another week.

    I’m sure you feel craptastic about it, but look at it this way: this break is good for you, Brian and you and Brian. It’ll recharge you and when J comes home, you’ll be refreshed and ready to be the best Mommy all over again!! And, feeling the way you do doesn’t make you a bad Mom–it makes you a good Mom.

    Now…when are your parents available to take Morgan? 🙂

     
  2. Kelly

    June 7, 2007 at 5:42 am

    I’m sure you do feel guilty…but don’t! You enjoy the time you have…relax, nap, shop, read…do whatever you want, when you want! Thats the beauty of vacations, plus you deserve it! Jeffrey is in good hands..and from the sounds of things..he too is having a blast!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
