RSS

The Binge has Ended

02 May

May 1st has passed and with it comes the end to the April Book Binge. I feel pretty happy with my output. It wasn’t outstanding but it pushed me to pick up a book instead of a remote more times than not this past month. Of course, I also think I drove Brian nuts because I get a little tunnel vision when I’m reading a book. I’ll continue to do things as I carry the tome in front of me, paying little attention to the havoc I am causing. What can I say, it’s a gift.

So finally, here is my list.

Things I have finished reading. (I’m rating everything out of 5 stars.)

The Hard Way by Lee Child– 3.5 stars. This is another Jack Reacher novel. I really like the character, I really like the storylines. However, I read enough thriller/detective novels that I’m starting to know the answers before the end. I’m not sure if that is my problem or the book?

Shaman’s Crossing: Book One of the Soldier Son by Robin Hobb– 4 stars. I love this author! I didn’t love this book as much as the Liveship series or the Farseer trilogies but it was a rich world and I am anxioiusly awaiting the next book.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon– 4 stars. I read this only based on comments left on other blogs and I was surprised that I really enjoyed it! It was a LONG book but easy to read and it drew me right into the world. I’m ready to go out and buy the next one.

Eleven on Top by Janet Evanovich– 3 stars. I loved this series when it started, but now it’s getting old. It’s still a fun read but it’s so predictable. Stephanies car will get blown up, she will be stuck in a lust loop between Morelli and Ranger and will want to quit her job but decide not to. I still enjoy it but I don’t know how much more Plum I want.

Danse Macabre by Laurell K. Hamilton– 1.5 stars. I want to say I liked this book because I used to wait with bated breath for her newest publication, but I can’t. In the beginning of the series, Hamilton created this amazing character and had cool detective stories stuck in a world filled with vampires and wereanimals. This book? No detective story, in fact very little story at all. It was mostly sex and more sex with little to no plot. I may be giving up on Anita Blake after this. If I wanted erotica, I’d shop in that section.

A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore– 4 stars. I love Christopher Moore. He writes these irreverant stories about absurd topics and they’re hysterical and heartwarming at the same time. I got hooked on him after reading Lamb: The gospel according to Biff, Christ’s childhood pal. He’s different and fun and I always enjoy his books!

Things I am still currently reading:

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov– A book I have always wanted to read especially after reading Azar Nafisi‘s Reading Lolita in Tehran (an amazing book btw). Lolita is one of those classic titles that I just feel I should read and so far it’s been interesting. I’m not very far into it but so far so good.

Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez– I’ve read a few of Marquez’s books and truthfully I thought this title was interesting so I picked it up. So far, it’s okay, not winning awards from me but I’ll judge it when I am finished.

Well, that’s it for me. Glad to see that everyone else was successful on their ends. Check out everyones results at Mary P‘s blog.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2007 in Books, meme

 

2 responses to “The Binge has Ended

  1. MaryP

    May 3, 2007 at 6:06 am

    I read Lolita when I was about 17, and hated it. I’d expected to be disturbed by it, but hadn’t expected that the girl in the story would be so unsympathetic. (Of course, I was 17 when I read it. I should go back and have another look, see how I feel as an adult.)

    I’ve seen “Reading Lolita” at a favourite bookstore. Perhaps I should pick it up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
