RSS

Finding Middle Ground

28 Apr

In addition to my pie addiction, I am also addicted to television. I try to limit Jeffrey’s exposure but when he goes to bed at 8:00, I’m like woo hoo Wife Swap is on. Seriously, I have a guilty addiction to stupid television shows. I am hoping not to pass this addiction on to Jeffrey.

There are a billion studies out there about television exposure and children. The first camp says no exposure before the age of two and is endorsed by the American Academy of Pediatrics. More recently there is a  study that says that there is no difference in incidence of ADHD in children between those who watched lots of tv versus none.  I don’t think that I’m really entrenched in either camp. My goal is be somewhere in the middle. I don’t want Jeffrey to be watching television now. I think our time is better spent outside or playing with his myriad of toys in  the house. That being said, I also don’t want him to never see television and therefore be entranced everytime one comes on around him.

My father always told me to never follow the extremes. He used to say that anything taken to extreme could be bad. That advice is something I have taken to heart and I pretty much try to live by it. I think Brian and I are trying to do the same thing in regard to Jeffrey. I don’t know all of the answers but I do know we will try to wade through the middle and not screw up too much.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2007 in Jeffrey, parenting

 

4 responses to “Finding Middle Ground

  1. Kellie

    April 29, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    I’m all for not rotting their little brains on tv, but the shows Morgan watches are “ok”. Not like she’s watching Springer or listening to Howard 🙂 She’s learned a lot from Little Einsteins…dammit!! I’ve noticed in the last few weeks that when her show is on, she’ll watch for a minute and then go be busy with her books or toys, watch for a few minutes and then be busy elsewhere again. She’s showing less interest in it and more interest in other things (like scaling the couch or the dining room chairs!!).

    I think we’re all doing just fine with our little peeps….they’re happy, healthy and cute as pie 🙂 Mmmm….pie!!

    FYI: I’m addicted to stupid tv, too 🙂

     
  2. Kurt

    April 29, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Finding the happy medium sounds like a good course of action. If you have NO TV in your household, then you kids get branded as weirdos in school. That ends up doing more damage than the supposed TV watching anyway.

    On the other hand, constantly watching TV or having it on in the background 24/7 breeds indifference to it, and consequently, I think, an inability to really appreciate a good show. Quality watching suffers at the hands of mass quantities of watching.

    I think watching, say, one movie every other week in high def, with surround, on a movie channel is far, far better than an edited for broadcast, commercial riddled, grainy analog, network movie every day. Art should not be edited.

    But I don’t want to get off on a rant here.

     
  3. happyworkingmom

    April 30, 2007 at 10:18 am

    I try to limit the amount just because that’s time I could be playing with them. But I have no problem letting them watch a movie or a show when a.) I need to get something done; b.) I don’t feel weel or am absolutely beat; or c.) when that’s what they REALLY want to do.

     
  4. Kelly M

    April 30, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    I have no children of my own..but I agree with you. A middle ground is the way to go. I would say the people who use TV as a babysitter, obviously way too much over exposure. But there are also some good educational shows on TV that many children learn good things from. I’m sure your doing fine!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
