RSS

Circling the Drain

10 Apr

You know, some days it doesn’t pay to get out of bed. The day started out fine. I went to work, I got coffee, I started a luminex run. Everything was working well. I went down to breakfast and they actually had English muffins and crispy bacon today. Then I went down to the luminex and tried to run my samples.

Issue 1: The luminex instrument is not in our lab. It is a research lab in another part of the hospital. We sign up to use it and then walk down several times during the testing process to setup and calibrate the instrument. This is a pain in the butt. Mostly because we are the primary users of the instrument.

Issue 2: I could not get into the program that we use to analyze because it could not find the HASP file. I had no idea what that meant or what to do about it. As usual our solution is to turn everything off and back on fifty times until suddenly it works. That took about 20 minutes and started turning my mood.

Issue 3: This computer is supposed to network to our computer back at the lab. Except it doesn’t. This has been an issue for some time and apparently is a hardware issue for the computer. The ISD guys figured out the problem several weeks ago but no one knows who is in charge of paying for the part. So… we wait.  I didn’t realize this when I went down today so I tried to get a connection for ten minutes before walking back up to the lab to retrieve our jump drive and put all my necessary files on it.

After all this, I walked down with my 96 samples and began my run. I was a little annoyed but I would get over it. Then as I stared at the computer screen, the urge to cry overtook me. None of my samples had any beads in them. This basically means I have no results. 94 patients and 2 controls; all down the drain. All my time down the drain. I’m not going to even mention how much these tests COST, because I might pass out over how much money I just threw down the drain.

So. Tomorrow, I begin anew. I will once again try my hand at these samples. Luckily, my supervisor and my boss don’t care. This is a relatively new test (for us) and we’re still working out the kinks in how to troubleshoot these kinds of problems. The problem is more that I am a perfectionist and I HATE when I screw things up. That I believe, is what co-workers are for.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2007 in blah, work

 

4 responses to “Circling the Drain

  1. Kurt

    April 10, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    No beads, huh? I’ve heard you can get some in New Orleans during Mardi Gras, but I’ve never been so I don’t know for sure. ‘Course, they’re probably the wrong kind of beads anyway.

    Sounds pretty frustrating, the things you have to deal with at work. Hopefully someone will take their head out of the sand and see that an inexpensive network card (if that’s the part) may save a lot more than just time and money–maybe something as simple as a network card will keep an employee just a little bit happier that much longer and keep them from leaving their job.

    Not that I’m suggesting I think YOU might be leaving your job, but if you’re even the tiniest bit frustrated enough to consider something like that, surely there are others who feel even moreso.

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. Stuff happens. Look to the future.

     
  2. happyworkingmom

    April 11, 2007 at 8:03 am

    I’m sorry the day was so frustrating for you…even though you lost me at “Luminex” 🙂 I really hope that today is better for you!

     
  3. Kellie

    April 11, 2007 at 8:44 am

    I’m sorry your day sucked canal water. I hope today is a kick ass day to make up for the suckiness of yesterday!!

     
  4. Rachel

    April 11, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Sorry you had such a crappy day! Hope tomorrow works out much better for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
