RSS

Solitude

30 Mar

Tonight I am home alone. Brian and the boy are out of town and I am on call for work by myself in the house. They are returning tomorrow evening. I’m enjoying some alone time.

One of the things I never thought about having a baby was the lack of solitude. I was an only child and I’m accustomed to having some time to myself to recharge and renew. It’s been a long time since I sat down to read a book without also trying to watch the boy or since I’ve watched television at a volume that I really want.  So tonight I am vegging on the couch and tomorrow I am going to sleep in until 8:30 or 9 and then clean the house.  I know it’s sickening but it is so hard to REALLY clean with the baby so I’m looking forward to scrubbing the house without anyone underfoot. I’m going to take some breaks to read, maybe take a nap in the afternoon and enjoy myself.

I’ll miss the boys even though it’s only one night away. I’ll be ready to snuggle my little one and cuddle with Brian tomorrow night. The important thing is that they’ll have spent some time together and I’ll have recharged my batteries too. The little things in life are so important, aren’t they?

Of course, I should remember that the reason I’m still home is because I am on call for work.  So all this resting and recharging? Is dependent on the pager staying quiet (knock on wood).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2007 in General

 

5 responses to “Solitude

  1. Kurt

    March 31, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Thanks for letting the boys out to play this weekend. We had a good time catching up.

     
  2. Dani

    March 31, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    Always glad to help 🙂

     
  3. Kelly M.

    April 1, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Glad you got some “you” time. It’s nice to have a quiet house all to yourself every now and theN!! So did you get a lot of reading done?? what about the pager?? Did it stay quiet?

     
  4. Rachel

    April 2, 2007 at 10:05 am

    It is always nice to have some alone time. Especially when you have kids. It really helps you get much needed rest. Also, I agree, it is soooo hard to really clean the house when the kids are around!

     
  5. Kellie

    April 2, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Hope you had a nice night of chilling and a great night of sleep and some Target-riffic cleaning 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
