RSS

Heart Stopping

26 Mar

This weekend, Jeffrey tried to stop my heart.

He fell down three steps while crawling up to the second floor. He really clonked his head and started crying. I was following him up the steps and yet I still missed catching him.
Two seconds after picking him up, I notice that he’s bleeding.

I totally lost it. I’m checking his pupils to see if he has a head injury. I’m ready to call the ambulance. And I’m not at all comfortable with the ambulance here. Once, I calmed down and breathed for a moment, I realized that he just bit his lip and was happily settled in my arms.

I gave him a dish towel with ice which he sucked on for about twenty minutes while we rocked in the chair. Then of course, he wiggled out of my arms and wanted to play.

I was still shaking. I called Brian so I could get some commiseration. He told me “he’s a boy, they’ll be a lot worse things that happen to him.”

So, not what I needed to hear.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2007 in Jeffrey

 

5 responses to “Heart Stopping

  1. Kelly M

    March 26, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Oh god I can so imagine how scared you were. I so hate head injuries! I’m glad he’s fine and it was just his lips…but you know what?? Much to your disliking…Brian is right…it is just the beginning!

     
  2. kurthiggins

    March 26, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    So happy to hear he’s okay. Don’t doubt yourself.

    I know you want to be like Cyndy Lauper and be all “When you fall, I will catch you, I’ll be waiting…” But that’s not life. You won’t always be able to be there, waiting. That’s not healthy for either of you. You CAN help him when he’s learning new things and guide him safely. I can guarantee he learned a lesson on those stairs today that won’t quickly leave his little baby brain.

     
  3. Happy Working Mom

    March 27, 2007 at 7:52 am

    My husband says that to me all the time! However, if something happens to our daughter, he runs over and treats her like a baby, and I’m all like “she’ll be fine, she’s a big girl.” I just think it’s so interesting how guys treat their sons…sometimes forgetting that they ARE babies, and they need to be loved 🙂

    I’m glad he’s OK – I know how scared you must of have been though…my son does that to me a lot!

     
  4. Sue

    March 28, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Sure, worse will happen to him, but right now he’s still your BABY. He needed a little babying.
    Just wait, Brian- one of these days, he’s gonna bleed on YOUR clock. Then we’ll see…

     
  5. Kellie

    March 30, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    I’ve had two of those heart stopping incidents with Morgan. Both involved a crapton of tears (and she cried, too!) and blood. Thankfully, the blood was from her lip.

    Sorry 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
