RSS

Homecoming

03 Mar

Last year on March 3rd, Jeffrey said goodbye to Nurse “Aunt” Cindy and took his first car ride home. I can’t even begin to tell you the emotion that I felt as we put our tiny son in his car seat and drove off towards home. All I know is that I have a greater capacity for love than I ever imagined.

Since we have left the NICU I have discovered that: Jeffrey is a fabulous boy. He has a beautiful smile, infectious and joyful. He is a happy baby. He’s done us the favor of being an easy infant. He loves to throw things; balls, blocks, toys, paper etc. He loves being naked; streaking across our living room with me chasing after him. Jeffrey loves playing in the bathtub. He smiles and laughs, throws things out of the tub while crying “uh oh” over and over again. He eats like he’s never seen food before. Daycare says they have never seen a baby eat like he does. I love that he snuggles with me each night to read books, that he falls asleep in minutes and stays out all night.

Every month he changes and grows. He gets bigger, he does new things. His personality shines more and I wish I could freeze every moment of him. So far, my favorite age has been: the soft snuggly baby that fell asleep on my chest. The sweet infant that hated tummy time and just wanted to be walked around. The beautiful boy that learned how to smile and just wanted to eat and be held. The amazing child that learned to crawl and move everywhere. The adventurous boy that climbs our stairs and lights up when we come into the room. Every moment is time to be cherished.

I am so grateful to everyone at Golisano Children’s Hospital that made it possible for him to come home to us. We loved our baby on layaway, but we didn’t know how much until he came home and really became part of our life. Happy one year homecoming sweet boy! We love you more than we ever imagined.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2007 in Jeffrey

 

3 responses to “Homecoming

  1. Kellie

    March 3, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    AWESOME!! Hard to belive it’s been a year!! I can’t get over how tiny my future son-in-law was 🙂

     
  2. Kurt

    March 4, 2007 at 8:11 am

    “…that he falls asleep in minutes and stays out all night.” I know what you MEANT by that, but it sounds like he’s a partier and “stays out all night!”

    Another milestone completed. One year at home. It’s a beautiful thing.

    I agree, he is one of the happiest babies I’ve ever met. And his smile is the most magical thing.

    Can’t wait to see him next!

     
  3. Kelly M

    March 4, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Wow – that was awesome! Truly from the heart! I can’t wait until I can feel and say the same things! 1 year..wow–I’m sure time has flown by..and changes are occuring by the second! Enjoy you little one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
