RSS

Rant

25 Feb

Alright, I have a freaking kidney stone. Do you know how ridiculously tired I am of these things? Okay so I realize that they are never going to go away, but geez it used to be like every four years. The thing is everytime I have a stone, I stupidly imagine that this is the last one. Why? I don’t know, I’ve been getting them since I was fifteen.

I just feel like ranting about it because it hurts, it’s annoying and I’m on call so I can’t take any decent pain medication.

I was supposed to have a kidney stone study done last year to find out why I develop the stones but I was pregnant. My doctor seriously asked “why did you even come in if you could be pregnant?” Umm, cause I was hoping you could help. Bonus surprise was that kidney stones are one of the 800 reasons that could have contributed to Jeffrey’s premature birth. Anyway, I haven’t made it back for the study simply because I found the doc annoying. Perhaps I should trudge in and have them poke at me.

I would go to my regular doc but I already know the advice. Drink lots of water, take pain meds, wait for the stone to pass, blah blah blah. I’m just feeling sorry for myself and I needed to rant. Thanks for listening everyone. Now I will toddle off to try and sleep.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2007 in General

 

4 responses to “Rant

  1. Mary P

    February 25, 2007 at 8:02 am

    My husband had kidney stones – once, and years before I met him. He still describes it as the worst pain he’s experienced. I can’t imagine having that happen repeatedly. Yuk!

    In your shoes, I’d be wanting to know why, obnoxious doctor be damned. (Is there another less snotty one you could go to?)

     
  2. Kellie

    February 25, 2007 at 9:11 am

    I’ve heard how horrible they are and am so happy/thankful I’ve never had one. I’m sorry. Sorry you have to deal with it so often; sorry it may have been a reason for Jeffrey arriving so early and sorry that the doc was such an ass. I agree with Mary P…maybe find another one who won’t be such a schmuck. Good luck & feel better 🙂

     
  3. kurthiggins

    February 25, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Ditch the doctor. I went to one for something and was so annoyed by him that I never followed up on the treatment/whathaveyou. Stupid, I know, since it only affects ME. Here it is a year or so later and I still need to see a doctor. I feel for you.

     
  4. Dani

    February 25, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Thanks everyone. I think I’ll talk to my GP about finding a different urologist and checking it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
